Ewan bests Bora-hansgrohe duo in sprint at People’s Choice Classic

Caleb Ewan 2017
Caleb Ewan (photo: CyclingTips)

Caleb Ewan (Orica-Scott) outsprinted Sam Bennett (Bora-hansgrohe) and Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe) to the line to win the People’s Choice Classic.

Ewan was also the 2016 winner of the People’s Choice Classic and was too strong in the final sprint at the end of the 50.6 kilometer event raced over 22 laps of a 2.3 kilometer street circuit in downtown Adelaide.

Young Australian Ben O’Connor led the race until the 19th lap when Team Sky and Katusha-Alpecin moved to the front of the peloton, trying to set up the race for their sprinters. Sagan then moved up on the 21st lap and looked a major threat until Ewan muscled his way into the clear.

“This is a great race to build your confidence and I sprinted a little earlier than I planned,” Ewan said.

Sunday’s race does not count towards general classification in the Tour Down Under that begins on Tuesday with the first of six stages, a 145 kilometer ride from Unley in suburban Adelaide to Lyndoch in the scenic Barossa Valley.

People’s Choice Classic 2017 results:

1Caleb Ewan (Orica-Scott)


2Sam Bennett (Bora-hansgrohe)


3Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe)


4Niccolo Bonifazio (Bahrain Merida)


5Edward Theuns (Trek-Segafredo)


6Mark Renshaw (Dimension Data)


7Sean De Bie (Lotto Soudal)


8Baptiste Planckaert (Katusha-Alpecin)


9Patrick Bevin (Cannondale-Drapac)


10Jasha Sütterlin (Movistar)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here