Diego Ulissi surprises with win in GP Montreal

Diego Ulissi wins GP Montreal 2017

Diego Ulissi (UAE Team Emirates) claimed a hard-fought victory in the GP Montreal, getting the better of his fellow breakaway companion Jesus Herrada (Movistar).

Tom-Jelte Slagter of Cannondale-Drapac was third as favourites Peter Sagan and Olympic champion Greg Van Avermaet were unable to catch up to a late breakaway group.

Ulissi darted along the right side to take the sprint and post one of the biggest wins of his pro career.

“I’m really very happy with this victory,” Ulissi said. “After the Tour de France I continued working hard because I really wanted to try and clinch this race, which is particularly suited to my skills. Last year I arrived third behind two champions like Van Avermaet and Sagan.

“This year I told myself that if I arrived with them I would get beaten again, so I decided to race on the attack. My teammates were fantastic, especially Marcato and Conti, who worked the flanks and checked my adversaries, finally pushing to the limit in the main break. Sometimes to win you have to risk losing it all, and I was determined to achieve success all the way, today.”

GP Cycliste de Montreal 2017 results:

1Diego Ulissi (UAE Team Emirates)


2Jesus Herrada (Movistar)


3Tom-Jelte Slagter (Cannondale-Drapac)


4Jan Bakelants (AG2R)


5Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo)


6Tony Gallopin (Lotto Soudal)


7Greg Van Avermaet (BMC)


8Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb)


9Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe)


10Sep Vanmarcke (Cannondale-Drapac)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here