Demare sprints to Brussels Classic victory


Arnaud Demare (Groupama-FDJ) emerged fastest from a large break to narrowly win Brussels Classic.

Tobias Lund Andresen (Team DSM) was second with Jordi Meeus (bora-Hansgrohe) in third.

Four riders went clear early on in the breakaway including Paul Lapeira of the AG2R Citroen, who held the King of the Mountains jersey early on at the Giro d’Italia.

After they were caught by a counter-attack led by Biniam Girmay the lead group swelled to over 20 riders. In the 23-man group up the road were a number of the pre-race favourites such as Biniam Girmay, Bryan Coquard, Arnaud Demare, Jordi Meeus and Derek Gee.

Derek Gee made an attack with just over 2km to go but was unsuccessful. A counter-attack by Kelland O’Brien did get a gap however, leading into the final kilometre.

O’Brien was caught with a few hundred metres left and then in the final sprint in was Arnaud Demare who powered to victory.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here