Chris Froome wins stage 16 time trial to extend overall Vuelta lead

Chris Froome time trial vuelta

Chris Froome claimed his second stage win of the 2017 Vuelta a Espana to extend his overall race lead on Vincenzo Nibali to 1min 58sec with victory in the individual time trial on Tuesday.

Froome beat out Wilco Kelderman and Nibali in a time of 47mins for the 40.2km 16th stage from the Navarra motor racing circuit to Logrono.

The Briton, who is aiming to become only the third rider in history to win the Tour de France and Vuelta in the same year, now has just four competitive stages to defend his lead before Sunday’s traditional parade around Madrid.

However, Nibali’s impressive showing in finishing just 57 seconds behind his rival for the leader’s red jersey on the day maintained his hopes of a second Vuelta win with a series of strenuous climbs, including Saturday’s queen stage up the Alto de L’Angliru, still to come.

Kelderman’s second place moved the Dutchman ahead of Ilnur Zakarin into third overall.

Vuelta a Espana 2017 – stage 16 results (Circuito de Navarra – Logrono ITT):

1Chris Froome (Team Sky)


2Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)


3Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida)


4Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin)


5Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo)


6Tobias Ludvigsson (FDJ)


7Wout Poels (Team Sky)


8Lennard Kamna (Team Sunweb)


9Bob Jungels (Quick-Step Floors)


10Daniel Oss (BMC)


11Alexis Gougeard (AG2R)


12Tejay Van Garderen (BMC)


13Yves Lampaert (Quick-Step Floors)


14Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNl-Jumbo)


15Matteo Trentin (Quick-Step Floors)


16Stef Clement (LottoNl-Jumbo)


17Niki Terpstra (Quick-Step Floors)


18Peter Koning (Aqua Blue Sport)


19Thomas De Gendt (Lotto Soudal)


20David De La Cruz (Quick-Step Floors)



General classification after stage 16:

1Chris Froome (Team Sky)


2Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida)


3Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)


4Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin)


5Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo)


6Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana)


7Fabio Aru (Astana)


8Wout Poels (Team Sky)


9Esteban Chaves (Orica-Scott)


10Michael Woods (Cannondale-Drapac)


11Tejay Van Garderen (BMC)


12David De La Cruz (Quick-Step Floors)


13Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNl-Jumbo)


14Louis Meintjes (UAE Team Emirates)


15Mikel Nieve (Team Sky)


16Sergio Padilla (Caja Rural – Seguros RGA)


17Nicolas Roche (BMC)


18Daniel Moreno (Movistar)


19Romain Bardet (AG2R)


20Darwin Atapuma (UAE Team Emirates)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here