Chris Froome seals Tour de France 2017 victory with third in final time trial

Chris Froome tour de france time trial

Chris Froome sealed a third consecutive Tour de France triumph and his fourth overall when he beat his yellow jersey rivals in the penultimate-day time trial won by Maciej Bodnar on Saturday.

The Team Sky rider was the third quickest of the 167 riders to tackle the 22.5-km course that started and finished in the Velodrome stadium, extending his lead to 54 seconds going into Sunday’s 21st stage, largely a processional ride to Paris.

Maciej Bodnar (Bora-hansgrohe) claimed stage victory in 28.15, one second quicker than Polish time trial champion Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky) and six faster than Froome.

After surviving this week’s Alpine stages Froome arrived in the historic French port with a slender 23-second lead over Romain Bardet but with perfect weather conditions there were no scares as he produced a scorching ride to finish only six seconds behind Bodnar.

Bardet was roared on by huge crowds on a course that looped around the Vieux Port but he struggled terribly on the steep hill towards the Basilica Notre-Dame and was almost caught by a charging Froome despite the Briton starting two minutes later.

Bardet was only 52nd quickest in the time trial but remained one second ahead of Mikel Landa in third place in the overall standings. Rigoberto Uran hit a barrier but moved above Bardet into second place.

Tour de France 2017 – stage 20 results (Marseille ITT): 

1Maciej Bodnar (Bora-hansgrohe)


2Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky)


3Chris Froome (Team Sky)


4Tony Martin (Katusha-Alpecin)


5Daryl Impey (Orica-Scott)


6Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo)


7Nikias Arndt (Team Sunweb)


8Rigoberto Uran (Cannondale-Drapac)


9Stefan Küng (BMC)


10Sylvain Chavanel (Direct Energie)


11Jack Bauer (Quick-Step Floors)


12Jasha Sutterlin (Movistar)


13Nils Politt (Katusha-Alpecin)


14Primoz Roglic (LottoNl-Jumbo)


15Mikel Landa (Team Sky)


16Tony Gallopin (Lotto Soudal)


17Taylor Phinney (Cannondale-Drapac)


18Vasil Kiryienka (Team Sky)


19Warren Barguil (Team Sunweb)


20Alexis Vuillermoz (AG2R)


General classification after stage 20:

1Chris Froome (Team Sky)


2Rigoberto Uran (Cannondale-Drapac)


3Romain Bardet (AG2R)


4Mikel Landa (Team Sky)


5Fabio Aru (Astana)


6Daniel Martin (Quick-Step Floors)


7Simon Yates (Orica-Scott)


8Louis Meintjes (UAE Team Emirates)


9Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo)


10Warren Barguil (Team Sunweb)


11Damiano Caruso (BMC)


12Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


13Alexis Vuillermoz (AG2R)


14Mikel Nieve (Team Sky)


15Emanuel Buchmann (Bora-hansgrohe)


16Brice Feillu (Fortuneo-Oscaro)


17Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo)


18Carlos Betancur (Movistar)


19Serge Pauwels (Dimension Data)


20Tiesj Benoot (Lotto Soudal)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here