Bryan Coquard sprints to victory on Vuelta a Andalucia stage 4

Bryan Coquard

Bryan Coquard (Direct Energie) won the fourth stage of the Vuelta a Andalucia 2017 in a sprint finish ahead of Daniel Hoelgaard (FDJ) and Hugo Hofstetter (Cofidis).

Martijn Budding (Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij), Jerome Cousin (Cofidis), Martijn Keizer (LottoNL-Jumbo), Lukasz Owsian (CCC Sprandi Polkowice), Diego Rubio (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA) and Jens Wallays (Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise) formed the breakaway of the day.

At 10 kilometers from the finish, the gap was down to just 30 seconds and the bunch did enough to catch the breakaway with a few kilometers to go.

In the final sprint, Bryan Coquard surpassed FDJ’s Daniel Hoelgaard just in time to take the victory ahead of the Norwegian.

Race leader Alejandro Valverde and second-placed Alberto Contador both finished safely and as such maintain their one-second gap with just one stage to go in the Spanish race.

Vuelta a Andalucia 2017 – stage 4 results (La Campana – Sevilla):

1Bryan Coquard (Direct Energie)


2Daniel Hoelgaard (FDJ)


3Hugo Hofstetter (Cofidis)


4Moreno Hofland (Lotto Soudal)


5Raymond Kreder (Roompot – Nederlandse Loterij)


6Mihkel Räim (Cycling Academy)


7Roman Maikin (Gazprom – Rusvelo)


8Maxime Farazijn (Sport Vlaanderen – Baloise)


9Rigoberto Uran (Cannondale-Drapac)


10Eduard Prades (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA)



General classification after stage 4:

1Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)


2Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo)


3Thibaut Pinot (FDJ)


4Wout Poels (Team Sky)


5Diego Rosa (Team Sky)


6Mikel Landa (Team Sky)


7Sebastien Reichenbach (FDJ)


8Rigoberto Uran (Cannondale-Drapac)


9Ondrej Cink (Bahrain Merida)


10Javier Moreno (Bahrain Merida)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here