Alexey Lutsenko takes dramatic victory in stage 4 of Tirreno-Adriatico

Alexey Lutsenko wins stage 4 Tirreno Adriatico 2019

Alexey Lutsenko (Astana) took a dramatic victory on stage four of the 2019 Tirreno-Adriatico, even if the Kazakh rider crashed twice in the last 12 kilometres.

With 36 kilometres to go, the escape was caught and several attacks forced splits in the bunch as a group with favourites like Tom Dumoulin, Jakob Fuglsang, Adam Yates, Primoz Roglic and Alexey Lutsenko was formed in front.

The Kazakh champion decided to make a move and went away by himself, but with 12 kilometres to go Lutsenko miscalculated a curve and went off the road. He crashed again on a corner with 1.2km to go and despite managing to quickly remount his bike, he was caught shortly after.

Lutsenko then launched his sprint first with around 100m to go and as Yates briefly hesitated, he got the jump on Roglic and was able to hold on to take a hard earned victory.

“I crashed twice in the last 20km. It made it very difficult for me. Fortunately, there was my teammate, Jakob Fuglsang, in the three-man group behind. I crashed again so I’m really happy that I made up with a stage win for this very bad day. It gives me more motivation for tomorrow and the big classics,” Lutsenko said.

Yates maintains the overall lead with a time of 15:53:42. Roglic (Jumbo-Visma) trails the leader by seven seconds and Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb) by 50 seconds.

Tirreno-Adriatico 2019 – stage 4 results (Foligno – Fossombrone):

1Alexey Lutsenko (Astana)


2Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma)


3Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)


4Jakob Fuglsang (Astana)


5Davide Formolo (Bora-hansgrohe)


6Alberto Bettiol (EF Education First)


7Simon Clarke (EF Education First)


8Tiesj Benoot (Lotto Soudal)


9Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


10Wout Poels (Team Sky)



Tirreno-Adriatico 2019 – general classification after stage 4:

1Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)


2Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma)


3Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb)


4Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


5Sam Oomen (Team Sunweb)


6Alexey Lutsenko (Astana)


7Wout Poels (Team Sky)


8Jakob Fuglsang (Astana)


9Alberto Bettiol (EF Education First)


10Simon Clarke (EF Education First)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here