Fernando Gaviria sprints to stage 12 win at the Giro


Fernando Gaviria claimed his third victory of the Giro d’Italia as stage 12 ended in a sprint finish at Reggio Emilia, where Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb) retained the overall race leader’s pink jersey.

Launched by Maximiliano Richeze, the 22-year-old became the first Colombian to collect three stage wins at a single edition of a Grand Tour.

Fernando Gaviria continued his fantastic Giro d’Italia debut on Thursday afternoon, when he roared first over the finish line in Reggio Emilia, after a tremendous job of Maximiliano Richeze, who provided a perfect lead-out despite a flat tire in the last 15 kilometers which forced him to chase hard the frantic peloton who was heading to the finish with 55 km/h.

Gaviria came out of his teammate’s wheel with 150 meters to go and powered to the line with remarkable ease, beating Jakub Mareczko (Wilier-Triestina) and Sam Bennett (Bora-hansgrohe). The stage 12 dominant win helped the Colombian extend his already comfortable advantage to 80 points in the maglia ciclamino classification.

“I was a bit worried when Max punctured, because the finish was nearing and the bunch was going really fast. Fortunately, he came back and I was relieved, because Max is very important for me. I want to say a big thanks to him and to the entire team, they were wonderful today and I couldn’t have asked for more”, said Fernando Gaviria.

Giro d’Italia 2017 – stage 12 results (Forli – Reggio Emilia):

1 Fernando Gaviria (Quick-Step Floors)


2 Jakub Mareczko (Wilier Triestina)


3 Sam Bennett (Bora-hansgrohe)


4 Phil Bauhaus (Team Sunweb)


5 Maximiliano Richeze (Quick-Step Floors)


6 Ryan Gibbons (Dimension Data)


7 Sacha Modolo (UAE Team Emirates)


8 André Greipel (Lotto Soudal)


9 Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo)


10 Roberto Ferrari (UAE Team Emirates)


11 Enrico Barbin (Bardiani CSF)


12 Viacheslav Kuznetsov (Katusha-Alpecin)


13 Aleksei Tcatevich (Gazprom – Rusvelo)


14 Maciej Paterski (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)


15 Rüdiger Selig (Bora-hansgrohe)


16 Luka Mezgec (Orica-Scott)


17 Adam Yates (Orica-Scott)


18 Domenico Pozzovivo (AG2R)


19 Vincenzo Albanese (Bardiani CSF)


20 Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida)



General classification after stage 12:

1 Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb)


2 Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


3 Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo)


4 Thibaut Pinot (FDJ)


5 Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida)


6 Andrey Amador (Movistar)


7 Bob Jungels (Quick-Step Floors)


8 Tanel Kangert (Astana)


9 Domenico Pozzovivo (AG2R)


10 Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin)


11 Dario Cataldo (Astana)


12 Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNl-Jumbo)


13 Davide Formolo (Cannondale-Drapac)


14 Geraint Thomas (Team Sky)


15 Rui Costa (UAE Team Emirates)


16 Adam Yates (Orica-Scott)


17 Maxime Monfort (Lotto Soudal)


18 Jan Polanc (UAE Team Emirates)


19 Ben Hermans (BMC)


20 Simone Petilli (UAE Team Emirates)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here