Home News Tim Wellens wraps up Tour of Guangxi overall win as Gaviria takes...

Tim Wellens wraps up Tour of Guangxi overall win as Gaviria takes final stage

Tim Wellens wins Tour of Guangxi

Fernando Gaviria (Quick-Step Floors) won the final stage at the Tour of Guangxi, while Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal) comfortably sealed overall victory.

Gaviria completed a poker of stage victories by crossing the line in celebration on the final day of the race, which started and finished in the town of Guilin.

The Colombian relied once again on an impressive Quick-Step Floors team, before Max Richeze catapulted him on the long straight to the line, where the blue jersey wearer comfortably beat Niccolo Bonifazio (Bahrain-Merida) and Dylan Groenewegen (LottoNL-Jumbo).

Tim Wellens took the overall victory, while Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo) and Nicolas Roche (BMC) rounded out the podium

“It is a WorldTour stage race and it’s not easy to win. I think, with the team, we did a super good job in controlling and I’m super happy to win here,” Wellens said

“On the mountain I was getting a little bit nervous. I was afraid the other teams would attack, but in the end it was just tempo uphill and there weren’t any attacks. It was perfect.”


Tour of Guangxi 2017 – stage 6 results (Guilin – Guilin):

1 Fernando Gaviria (Quick-Step Floors)


2 Niccolo Bonifazio (Bahrain-Merida)


3 Dylan Groenewegen (LottoNL-Jumbo)


4 Andrea Guardini (UAE Team Emirates)


5 Magnus Cort (Orica-Scott)


6 Maximilian Walscheid (Team Sunweb)


7 Matteo Pelucchi (Bora-hansgrohe)


8 Maximiliano Richeze (Quick-Step Floors)


9 Roger Kluge (Orica-Scott)


10 Grega Bole (Bahrain-Merida)



Final general classification:

1 Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal)


2 Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo)


3 Nicolas Roche (BMC)


4 Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors)


5 Ben Hermans (BMC)


6 Wout Poels (Team Sky)


7 Matej Mohoric (UAE Team Emirates)


8 Silvan Dillier (BMC)


9 Rein Taaramäe (Katusha-Alpecin)


10 Rémy Cavagna (Quick-Step Floors)