Home News Soler pips Yates to Paris-Nice overall victory as De La Cruz takes...

Soler pips Yates to Paris-Nice overall victory as De La Cruz takes final stage

Marc Soler wins paris-nice 2018

Marc Soler (Movistar) was rewarded for his long-rage attack in the final stage as he beat Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) by four seconds to win the Paris-Nice race on Sunday.

The Movistar rider jumped away from the group of favorites with more than 50 kilometers left in the 110-km mountainous ride around Nice to take third place in the eighth stage won by fellow Spaniard David de la Cruz of Team Sky.

It gave Soler a four-second bonus that helped him move past overnight leader Simon Yates after the Mitchelton-Scott rider was dropped in the last ascent of the day.

Yates made contact with other favorites in the descent into Nice but finished sixth, 38 seconds behind De La Cruz and second placed Omar Fraile (Astana). He was 35 seconds adrift of Soler.

Another Spaniard, Gorka Izagirre, took third place overall. He was 14 seconds off the pace despite crashing in the final descent, while his Bahrain-Merida team mate and brother Jon ended up fourth.

Paris-Nice 2018 – stage 8 results (Nice – Nice):

1David De La Cruz (Team Sky)


2Omar Fraile (Astana)


3Marc Soler (Movistar)


4Patrick Konrad (Bora-hansgrohe)


5Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal)


6Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)


7Dylan Teuns (BMC)


8Richard Carapaz (Movistar)


9Gorka Izagirre (Bahrain-Merida)


10Ion Izagirre (Bahrain-Merida)


Final general classification:

1Marc Soler (Movistar)


2Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)


3Gorka Izagirre (Bahrain-Merida)


4Ion Izagirre (Bahrain-Merida)


5Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal)


6Dylan Teuns (BMC)


7Patrick Konrad (Bora-hansgrohe)


8Alexis Vuillermoz (AG2R La Mondiale)


9David De La Cruz (Team Sky)


10Felix Grossschartner (Bora-hansgrohe)