Home News Mühlberger claims Binck Bank Tour stage six with late move

Mühlberger claims Binck Bank Tour stage six with late move

Gregor Muhlberger wins stage 6 binck bank tour 2018

Gregor Mühlberger (Bora-hansgrohe) took the victory in the sixth stage of the Binck Bank Tour after a last moment attack, winning with 100 metres of an advantage over the chasers.

In the early stages of the hilly sixth day, the peloton allowed a breakaway of six riders freedom and ride out to an advantage of over six minutes. Unlike the previous stages were a breakaway has survived to the line, the peloton took no chances and began to chase hard and reeled the group back with 50km to go.

Once the peloton regrouped, the race lit up over the short sharp climbs and the peloton strung out and eventually split with a hard pace being set.

With 30km to go two riders, Timo Roosen (LottoNL-Jumbo) and Maciej Bodnar (Bora-hansgrohe) attacked away from the group and quickly established a gap of over thirty seconds.

Despite a hard chase behind along technical undulating roads, the duo increased their advantage to one minute before the more climbs began.

The active chase group drew closer to the leaders inside the final 20km and once they were within striking distance, three more riders bridged across. This didn’t last long as the catch was made and more attacks came.

With six kilometres to go Tim Wellens (Lotto-Soudal) attacked away from the front group and looked like a potential winner however more attacks came leaving splits in the peloton. The victory went to Muhlberger in the final.

Binck Bank Tour 2018 – stage 6 results (Riemst – Sittard-Geleen):

1Gregor Mühlberger (Bora-hansgrohe)


2Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal)


3Zdenek Stybar (Quick-Step Floors)


4Dylan van Baarle (Team Sky)


5Maximilian Schachmann (Quick-Step Floors)


6Greg Van Avermaet (BMC)


7Søren Kragh Andersen (Team Sunweb)


8Oliver Naesen (AG2R La Mondiale)


9Jay McCarthy (Bora-hansgrohe)


10Mads Würtz Schmidt (Katusha-Alpecin)



General classification after stage 6:

1Matej Mohoric (Bahrain-Merida)


2Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb)


3Taco van der Hoorn (Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij)


4Søren Kragh Andersen (Team Sunweb)


5Maximilian Schachmann (Quick-Step Floors)


6Maciej Bodnar (Bora-hansgrohe)


7Victor Campenaerts (Lotto Soudal)


8Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal)


9Yves Lampaert (Quick-Step Floors)


10Dylan van Baarle (Team Sky)