Home News Kristoff wins final stage of Tour of Oman, Lutsenko takes overall

Kristoff wins final stage of Tour of Oman, Lutsenko takes overall

Alexey Lutsenko

Alexander Kristoff (UAE Team Emirates) won the bunch sprint of the final stage at the Tour of Oman ahead of Bryan Coquard (Vital Concept) and Giacomo Nizzolo (Trek-Segafredo).

Alexey Lutsenko (Astana) finished safely in the pack to secure overall victory. His teammate Miguel Angel Lopez stepped on the second step of the final podium and Gorka Izagirre (Bahrain-Merida) on the third.

“I’m very happy to have won my first victory with UAE Team Emirates,” said Kristoff. “I feel so much faith from the team and I’ve always had strong men at my side in these first races of the season.

“I enjoy this finish a lot. I won already here in 2016 and 2017, so I knew that today would be an optimum chance to succeed. In the meeting this morning, with the spots directors and team-mates, we were very detailed and studied well every move we’d make in the final. That way, we took on the final kilometres perfectly”.

“It is so nice to win in your first race of the season,” Lutsenko said. “I did a lot of work this winter, it was my goal to be on form for the start of the season and, finally, I am here at the podium as the winner. It was not a plan to try to win in Oman, but I felt really good the whole week here and also the team was absolutely fantastic.

“So, now I am coming back to Europe and already next weekend I will open my classics season in Belgium. Despite this overall victory, the classics are my biggest goal for the first half of the season, so I am really motivated to do it well.”

Tour of Oman 2018 – stage 6 results (Al Mouj Muscat – Matrah Corniche):

1Alexander Kristoff (UAE Team Emirates)


2Bryan Coquard (Vital Concept)


3Giacomo Nizzolo (Trek-Segafredo)


4Magnus Cort (Astana)


5Nathan Haas (Katusha-Alpecin)


6Davide Martinelli (Quick-Step Floors)


7Amaury Capiot (Sport Vlaanderen – Baloise)


8Greg Van Avermaet (BMC)


9Benjamin Declercq (Sport Vlaanderen – Baloise)


10Floris Gerts (Roompot – Nederlandse Loterij)



Final general classification:

1Alexey Lutsenko (Astana)


2Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana)


3Gorka Izagirre (Bahrain-Merida)


4Jesus Herrada (Cofidis)


5Nathan Haas (Katusha-Alpecin)


6Dries Devenyns (Quick-Step Floors)


7Daniel Navarro (Cofidis)


8Christian Odd Eiking (Wanty-Groupe Gobert)


9Merhawi Kudus (Dimension Data)


10Rui Costa (UAE Team Emirates)