Home News Gaviria pips Sagan to stage four win on Vuelta a San Juan

Gaviria pips Sagan to stage four win on Vuelta a San Juan

Fernando Gaviria wins stage 4 Vuelta a San Juan 2019

Fernando Gaviria (UAE Team Emirates) held off Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe) to win stage four of the Vuelta a San Juan.

Gaviria looked like he’d kicked slightly too early, with Sagan getting a great position on the Colombian’s wheel, but the 24-year-old held off the multiple time world-champion to edge a photo finish. Alvaro Hodeg (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) was third.

Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) kept the overall lead, which he earned with a win in Tuesday’s time trial stage. He also won stage 2 in a solo breakaway.

The race will have a rest day Thursday and resumes on Friday with the queen stage.

Vuelta a San Juan 2019 – stage 4 results (San José de Jáchal – Villa San Agustín):

1 Fernando Gaviria (UAE Team Emirates)


2 Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe)


3 Alvaro Hodeg (Deceuninck-QuickStep)


4 Simone Consonni (UAE Team Emirates)


5 Luca Pacioni (Neri-Sottoli-Selle Italia-KTM)


6 Matteo Malucelli (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA)


7 Nelson Soto Martinez (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA)


8 Imerio Cima (Nippo-Vini Fantini)


9 Nikolas Maes (Lotto Soudal)


10 German Tivani (Asociación Civil Agrupación Virgen de Fati)



Vuelta a San Juan 2019 – general classification after stage 4:

1 Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-QuickStep)


2 Fernando Gaviria (UAE Team Emirates)


3 Valerio Conti (UAE Team Emirates)


4 Remco Evenepoel (Deceuninck-QuickStep)


5 Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe)


6 Felix Grobschartner (Bora-hansgrohe)


7 Simone Consonni (UAE Team Emirates)


8 Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


9 Gino Mader (Dimension Data0


10 Aleksandr Grigorev (Sporting Tavira)