Home Grand Tours Barguil beats Quintana and Contador to win thrilling stage 13 at the...

Barguil beats Quintana and Contador to win thrilling stage 13 at the Tour

Warren Barguil tour de france 2017

Warren Barguil (Team Sunweb) won the 13th stage of the Tour de France, a 101-km mountain trek from Saint-Girons on Bastille Day on Friday.

Barguil became the first Frenchman to win on the national holiday since David Moncoutié in 2005. In the sprint, Nairo Quintana (Movistar) was second. Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo), who helped initiate the winning move, finished third.

Chris Froome finished alongside race leader Aru, 1min 48sec behind the winner, to keep hold of second place at 6sec with Romain Bardet remaining third at 25sec.

The biggest winner, though, was Froome’s Sky teammate Mikel Landa, who finished fourth at just 2sec and moved up two places to fifth overall, now just 1:09 back.

But the race was made first by Contador, who attacked on the first of three mountain climbs, and Quintana who attacked early on the second. Contador’s move with 70km to ride was marked by Landa while Quintana, less than 10km later, brought along Barguil. The latter two caught the former just before cresting the final summit of the day, 27km from the finish.

And those were the four who contested the sprint finish for victory, with Barguil bringing great delight to the home fans on their national holiday.

In the final 10km, Dan Martin and Simon Yates escaped out of Aru’s group to snatch back a few seconds, although both lost a place to Landa.

Tour de France 2017 – stage 13 results (Saint-Girons – Foix):

1 Warren Barguil (Team Sunweb)


2 Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


3 Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo)


4 Mikel Landa (Team Sky)


5 Simon Yates (Orica-Scott)


6 Daniel Martin (Quick-Step Floors)


7 Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky)


8 Christopher Froome (Team Sky)


9 Fabio Aru (Astana)


10 Rigoberto Uran (Cannondale-Drapac)


11 Romain Bardet (AG2R)


12 Louis Meintjes (UAE Team Emirates)


13 Carlos Betancur (Movistar)


14 Diego Ulissi (UAE Team Emirates)


15 Pierre Latour (AG2R)


16 Serge Pauwels (Dimension Data)


17 Alexis Vuillermoz (AG2R)


18 Damiano Caruso (BMC)


19 Guillaume Martin (Wanty-Groupe Gobert)


20 Emanuel Buchmann (Bora-hansgrohe)



General classification after stage 13:

1 Fabio Aru (Astana)


2 Christopher Froome (Team Sky)


3 Romain Bardet (AG2R)


4 Rigoberto Uran (Cannondale-Drapac)


5 Mikel Landa (Team Sky)


6 Daniel Martin (Quick-Step Floors)


7 Simon Yates (Orica-Scott)


8 Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


9 Louis Meintjes (UAE Team Emirates)


10 Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo)


11 George Bennett (LottoNl-Jumbo)


12 Mikel Nieve (Team Sky)


13 Pierre Latour (AG2R)


14 Damiano Caruso (BMC)


15 Warren Barguil (Team Sunweb)


16 Alexis Vuillermoz (AG2R)


17 Emanuel Buchmann (Bora-hansgrohe)


18 Carlos Betancur (Movistar)


19 Guillaume Martin (Wanty-Groupe Gobert)


20 Brice Feillu (Fortuneo-Oscaro)