Home News Alaphilippe beats Contador in Paris-Nice time trial

Alaphilippe beats Contador in Paris-Nice time trial

Julian Alaphilippe

Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors) crushed the opposition with a dominant ride in the time trial on stage 4 of the Paris-Nice.  

Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo) had a strong performance and completed the 14.5km course in 21 minutes and 58 seconds, beating all the times that were set until then. But minutes later, Alaphilippe showed that he is a strong contender for this race and beat the Spaniard’s time, stopping the clock at 21 minutes and 39 seconds.

First at the intermediate split, after completing the flat part of the course in a blistering time of 13:49, Alaphilippe smashed the competition on Mont-Brouilly, the 3km-long climb averaging 7.7%, which made for some big gaps and reshuffled the general classification. Alaphilippe became the first Frenchman in 25 years – since Jean-François Bernard on Col d’Eze – to win an individual time trial stage at the “Race to the Sun.”

“I am so happy. It’s a wonderful victory at the end of a nervous day. I knew I could do it, I knew I can get a good result on this parcours. When I crossed the finish line, I had a huge thought for my friend Fabien Rossolini (ed. – speaker at the Tour de France) who died a few weeks ago. I knew Paris-Nice was one of his favourite races and this makes my success even more special”, an ecstatic Julian said after seizing the lead at his home race.

Paris-Nice 2017 – stage 4 results (Beaujeu – Mont Brouilly ITT):

1Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors)


2Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo)


3Tony Gallopin (Lotto Soudal)


4Gorka Izagirre (Movistar)


5Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin)


6David De La Cruz (Quick-Step Floors)


7Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb)


8Sergio Henao (Team Sky)


9Ion Izagirre (Bahrain Merida)


10Richie Porte (BMC)



General classification after stage 4:

1Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors)


2Tony Gallopin (Lotto Soudal)


3Gorka Izagirre (Movistar)


4Sergio Henao (Team Sky)


5Daniel Martin (Quick-Step Floors)


6Philippe Gilbert (Quick-Step Floors)


7Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin)


8Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo)


9Rudy Molard (FDJ)


10Arnaud Demare (FDJ)