Van der Poel takes stage 7 in nail-biting finish at Tirreno-Adriatico

Mathieu van der Poel caught and passed Matteo Fabbro in the last few hundred meters of an uphill finish to win the penultimate stage of the Tirreno-Adriatico.

Simon Yates’ overall lead remained unchanged entering the concluding individual time trial Monday.

Van der Poel finished four seconds ahead of Ruben Guerreiro and Fabbro.

”It was an incredible stage, much tougher than I expected,” said Van der Poel. ”The team did a great job getting me into the break. I knew I had to go full gas on the last climb before the finish. Fabbro was ahead of me and when I passed him I knew I had won. I am very happy for this victory that I have been looking for since the beginning of the Tirreno-Adriatico.”

Yates remained 16 seconds ahead of Rafal Majka and 39 seconds ahead of Geraint Thomas.

Thomas will be favored to gain time in the 10-kilometer time trial in San Benedetto Del Tronto.

”Big day. It is what it is,” Yates said. ”Everyone is thinking Rafal Majka is not a good time trialer but that’s not the case. The race is not won.”

Tirreno-Adriatico 2020 – stage 7 results (Pieve Torina – Loreto):

1Mathieu Van Der Poel (Alpecin-Fenix)


2Ruben Guerreiro (EF Pro Cycling)


3Matteo Fabbro (Bora-hansgrohe)


4Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)


5Alex Aranburu (Astana)


6Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)


7Michael Woods (EF Pro Cycling)


8Geraint Thomas (Ineos Grenadiers)


9Aleksandr Vlasov (Astana)


10Rafal Majka (Bora-hansgrohe)



Tirreno-Adriatico 2020 – general classification after stage 7:

1Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)


2Rafal Majka (Bora-hansgrohe)


3Geraint Thomas (Ineos Grenadiers)


4Aleksandr Vlasov (Astana)


5Fausto Masnada (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


6Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)


7Michael Woods (EF Pro Cycling)


8James Knox (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


9Gianluca Brambilla (Trek-Segafredo)


10Jack Haig (Mitchelton-Scott)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here