Thomas powers to stage 11 win and Tour de France yellow jersey

Geraint Thomas wins stage 12 tour de france 2018

Geraint Thomas claimed the stage win and the race leader’s yellow jersey on the Tour de France on Wednesday, with a powerful ride up the final climb of a grueling 108km run from Albertville to La Rosière.

Team Sky’s rider, who won the Criterium du Dauphine last month, attacked near the end of the 11th stage. The 2017 Giro champion Tom Dumoulin took second place, 20 seconds behind Thomas and just ahead of his Team Sky colleague and defending champion Chris Froome.

Romain Bardet, Vincenzo Nibali and Nairo Quintana crossed the line 59 seconds behind Thomas.

The Welshman attacked from the group of favorites with nine kilometers left of the 17.6-km ascent at an average gradient of 5.8 percent to La Rosiere, and caught Dumoulin, who had attacked earlier.

The Dutchman could not sustain the pace of Thomas, who also caught and then left in his wake Mikel Nieve, the last survivor of the day’s breakaway.

“I just felt good today, I followed my instincts,” said Thomas, who now leads Froome by one minute 25 seconds and third-placed Dumoulin by 1:44.

Several top contenders sustained heavy losses. Alejandro Valverde, who was on the attack in the final climb, finished 3:30 off the pace, and Adam Yates crossed the line 4:42 behind.

Last year’s runner-up Rigoberto Uran finished 26:07 down, killing off any hopes he may have had of a podium finish.

Thursday’s 12th stage is likely to see the favorites battle it out for yellow again with a summit finish on the iconic Alpe d’Huez.

Tour de France 2018 – stage 11 results:

1 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky 3:29:36
2 Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Sunweb 0:00:20
3 Chris Froome (GBr) Team Sky
4 Damiano Caruso (Ita) BMC Racing Team 0:00:22
5 Mikel Nieve (Spa) Mitchelton-Scott
6 Daniel Martin (Irl) UAE Team Emirates 0:00:27
7 Jesus Herrada (Spa) Cofidis, Solutions Credits 0:00:57
8 Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 0:00:59
9 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida
10 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team
11 Primoz Roglic (Slo) LottoNL-Jumbo
12 Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo 0:01:07
13 Mikel Landa (Spa) Movistar Team 0:01:47
14 Egan Bernal (Col) Team Sky
15 Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin 0:01:58
16 Daniel Navarro Garcia (Spa) Cofidis, Solutions Credits 0:02:51
17 Pierre Latour (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 0:02:59
18 Gorka Izagirre (Spa) Bahrain-Merida 0:03:06
19 Guillaume Martin (Fra) Wanty-Groupe Gobert 0:03:08
20 Warren Barguil (Fra) Fortuneo-Samsic


General classification after stage 11:

1 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky 44:06:16
2 Chris Froome (GBr) Team Sky 0:01:25
3 Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Sunweb 0:01:44
4 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida 0:02:14
5 Primoz Roglic (Slo) LottoNL-Jumbo 0:02:23
6 Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo 0:02:40
7 Mikel Landa (Spa) Movistar Team 0:02:56
8 Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 0:02:58
9 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team 0:03:16
10 Daniel Martin (Irl) UAE Team Emirates
11 Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team 0:04:28
12 Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana Pro Team 0:04:53
13 Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin 0:04:58
14 Mikel Nieve (Spa) Mitchelton-Scott 0:05:21
15 Bob Jungels (Lux) Quick-Step Floors 0:05:50
16 Adam Yates (GBr) Mitchelton-Scott 0:05:51
17 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Bahrain-Merida 0:06:36
18 Damiano Caruso (Ita) BMC Racing Team 0:10:01
19 Serge Pauwels (Bel) Dimension Data 0:10:30
20 Pierre Latour (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 0:11:46


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here