Soren Kragh Andersen wins Tour de France stage 14 before key mountain day

Søren Kragh Andersen attacked in the final kilometers of stage 14 of the Tour de France to take the second stage win for Team Sunweb in this year’s edition.

The rider from Denmark cruised to his biggest career win, smiling and sitting up in his saddle before crossing the finish line next to the River Rhone.

”I’m just amazed,” Andersen said. ”It’s always hard to say I am good enough before I have done it.”

Luka Mezgec crossed 15 seconds later to take the sprint for second, and Simon Consonni was third.

Sagan finished only fourth on a stage he targeted to close the gap in the points classification to green jersey wearer Sam Bennett.

Overall leader Roglic had a drama-free ride to keep the yellow jersey he claimed last Sunday. The former ski jumper stayed 44 seconds ahead of his fellow Slovenian Tadej Pogacar, and 59 clear of Egan Bernal, the defending champion.

”We didn’t have to ride the whole day but our guys did the perfect job,” Roglic said of his Jumbo-Visma team. ”Luckily we had everything under control.”

The yellow jersey battle is sure to reignite on Sunday. A 174.5-kilometer trek from Lyon ends with a gruelling ride up Grand Colombier in the Jura mountains suited to creating time gaps.

The Slovenia vs. Colombia contest atop the general classification will play out over two category 1 summits before approaching an even tougher final climb that stretches for more than 17 kilometers.

Tour de France 2020 – stage 14 results (Clermont-Ferrand – Lyon):

1Søren Kragh Andersen (Team Sunweb)


2Luka Mezgec (Mitchelton-Scott)


3Simone Consonni (Cofidis)


4Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe)


5Casper Pedersen (Team Sunweb)


6Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo)


7Matteo Trentin (CCC)


8Oliver Naesen (AG2R la Mondiale)


9Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain McLaren)


10Marc Hirschi (Team Sunweb)


11Anthony Turgis (Total Direct Energie)


12Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates)


13Michael Valgren (NTT)


14Hugo Houle (Astana)


15Warren Barguil (Arkea-Samsic)


16Valentin Madouas (Groupama-FDJ)


17Quentin Pacher (B&B Hotels-Vital Concept)


18Damiano Caruso (Bahrain McLaren)


19Omar Fraile (Astana)


20Michal Kwiatkowski (Ineos Grenadiers)


Tour de France 2020 – general classification after stage 14:

1Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma)


2Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates)


3Egan Bernal (Ineos Grenadiers)


4Rigoberto Uran (EF Pro Cycling)


5Nairo Quintana (Arkea-Samsic)


6Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana)


7Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)


8Mikel Landa (Bahrain McLaren)


9Richie Porte (Trek-Segafredo)


10Enric Mas (Movistar)


11Guillaume Martin (Cofidis)


12Tom Dumoulin (Jumbo-Visma)


13Richard Carapaz (Ineos Grenadiers)


14Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)


15Damiano Caruso (Bahrain McLaren)


16Sergio Higuita (EF Pro Cycling)


17Warren Barguil (Arkea-Samsic)


18Pierre Rolland (B&B Hotels-Vital Concept)


19Sepp Kuss (Jumbo-Visma)


20Esteban Chaves (Mitchelton-Scott)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here