Sivakov claims first pro victory as Sky double up in Tour of the Alps

Pavel Sivakov wins stage 2 Tour of the Alps 2019

Pavel Sivakov (Team Sky) claimed his maiden professional victory on stage two of the 2019 Tour of the Alps in Schenna, beating Jan Hirt (Astana) to victory on the uphill finish.

The young Russian was active throughout the queen stage and was strong enough to force his way into a late move as the group of general classification contenders split apart on the run-in.

As the road ramped up into Schenna Sivakov timed his final attack, driving clear of the group on the steep slopes. Despite being joined by Hirt ahead of the final kilometre he was able to regroup, before riding the Czech off his wheel on the way to an eight-second race lead and the young rider jersey.

Tao Geoghegan Hart finished 43 seconds down on the stage, 13 seconds behind overall favourites Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida) and Rafał Majka (Bora-hansgrohe) who had attacked within the last few kilometres to gain some time.

“We could not wish for a better start to the race: two stages in two wins, it’s unbelievable,” Sivakov said afterwards. “Yesterday Tao had his first pro win and today, I’ve gone mine.”

“We have a really good young group we work together really well,” Sivakov. “Today, the big favourites looked at Tao and I had an opportunity to go in the break, so I have to say a big thanks to him.”

Tour of the Alps 2019 – stage 2 results (Reith im Alpbachtal – Schenna/Scena):

1Pavel Sivakov (Team Sky)


2Jan Hirt (Astana)


3Mattia Cattaneo (Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec)


4Fausto Masnada (Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec)


5Hermann Pernsteiner (Bahrain-Merida)


6Rafal Majka (Bora-hansgrohe)


7Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida)


8Tao Geoghegan Hart (Team Sky)


9Pello Bilbao (Astana)


10Nikita Stalnov (Astana)



Tour of the Alps 2019 – general classification after stage 2:

1Pavel Sivakov (Team Sky)


2Jan Hirt (Astana)


3Mattia Cattaneo (Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec)


4Rafal Majka (Bora-hansgrohe)


5Hermann Pernsteiner (Bahrain-Merida)


6Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida)


7Tao Geoghegan Hart (Team Sky)


8Pello Bilbao (Astana)


9Nikita Stalnov (Astana)


10Roland Thalmann (Vorarlberg Santic)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here