Simon Yates regains Vuelta a Espana lead with epic stage 14 win

Simon Yates wins stage 14 Vuelta a Espana 2018

Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) took back command of the Vuelta a Espana after a gutsy ride on stage 14 handed the Englishman the victory on Saturday.

Yates, who held the red jersey from stages 9 to 11, broke free from a splintering group of frontrunners on the winding, technical finish to solo over the line in triumph.

Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana) was second at just a couple of seconds behind with Movistar veteran and 2009 champion Alejandro Valverde in third place.

“I’m a bit happier now, I feel more like I deserve it this time,” Yates said. “I gave everything I could, I’m very happy.

“I chose my moment really well and didn’t look back until it flattened out a little. There was a bit of a gap, so I just gave everything to the line.”

Yates now leads Valverde by 20sec in the overall standings, with the Spaniard’s teammate Nairo Quintana third at 25sec.

“I’m left with the feeling that I could have won,” Valverde said. “It was going very well but I do not want to take anything away from Simon who has been a deserving winner”.

“We are very close in the general classification, all the rivals, and that is good, there is a lot of excitement for the race tomorrow, which can be a very decisive day.”

Former race leader Jesus Herrada had dropped off around the descent of the Mozqueta and the Spaniard never really recovered.

It was Yates’ first stage victory at this year’s Vuelta and the 26-year-old will now be hoping to avoid a repeat of the collapse that saw him throw away a strong lead at the Giro d’Italia in May.

The Vuelta continues on Sunday with the 15th stage, and one the toughest days, lasting 178.2km between Ribera de Arriba and Lagos de Covadonga.

Vuelta a Espana 2018 – stage 14 results (Cistierna – Les Praeres. Nava):

1Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)


2Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana)


3Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)


4Thibaut Pinot (Groupama-FDJ)


5Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


6Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNL-Jumbo)


7Enric Mas (Quick-Step Floors)


8Rigoberto Uran (EF Education First-Drapac)


9Ion Izagirre (Bahrain-Merida)


10Fabio Aru (UAE Team Emirates)


11Tony Gallopin (AG2R La Mondiale)


12Emanuel Buchmann (Bora-hansgrohe)


13Jack Haig (Mitchelton-Scott)


14Richard Carapaz (Movistar)


15Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)


16Gianluca Brambilla (Trek-Segafredo)


17Hermann Pernsteiner (Bahrain-Merida)


18Rudy Molard (Groupama-FDJ)


19Michael Woods (EF Education First-Drapac)


20Davide Formolo (Bora-hansgrohe)



General classification after stage 14:

1Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)


2Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)


3Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


4Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana)


5Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNL-Jumbo)


6Rigoberto Uran (EF Education First-Drapac)


7Ion Izagirre (Bahrain-Merida)


8Enric Mas (Quick-Step Floors)


9Tony Gallopin (AG2R La Mondiale)


10Emanuel Buchmann (Bora-hansgrohe)


11Thibaut Pinot (Groupama-FDJ)


12Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)


13Fabio Aru (UAE Team Emirates)


14Gianluca Brambilla (Trek-Segafredo)


15Jack Haig (Mitchelton-Scott)


16David De La Cruz (Team Sky)


17Jesus Herrada (Cofidis)


18Rafal Majka (Bora-hansgrohe)


19Rudy Molard (Groupama-FDJ)


20Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here