Schachmann wins shortened sixth stage of Volta a Catalunya

Maximilian Schachmann wins stage 6

Maximilian Schachmann (Quick-Step Floors) won the sixth stage of the Volta a Catalunya which was shortened due to heavy snow and bad weather in the Pyrenees Mountains on Saturday.

Defending champion Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) maintained his overall lead of 16 seconds over Egan Bernal (Team Sky) ahead of the final stage.

Schachmann beat Diego Rubio in a two-man sprint to claim the 117-kilometer ride that ended in Torrefarrera after staring in La Pobla de Segur.

The stage was originally 194 kilometers and to start at Viehla in the mountains, but heavy snow led to a change by race officials.

Valverde said riders faced temperatures of 1 and 2 degrees Celsius and rain for a large part of the ride.

”Now we have tomorrow,” Valverde said. ”We know that 16 seconds can either seem like a lot, or not very much at all.”

Schachmann and Rubio held off a late push by the peloton, which crossed 18 seconds after the winner.

”It was a really, really cold day even with the shortened sage,” Schachmann said. ”It was incredibly hard. I was even frozen in the front. I am really happy I made it to the finish line.”

Valverde’s teammate, Nairo Quintana, stayed third overall, 26 seconds behind.

Sunday’s seventh stage is a 155-kilometer ride in Barcelona.

Volta a Catalunya 2018 – stage 6 results (Pobla de Segur – Torrefarrera):

1Maximilian Schachmann (Quick-Step Floors)


2Diego Rubio (Burgos BH)


3Sam Bennett (Bora-hansgrohe)


4Matej Mohoric (Bahrain-Merida)


5Roberto Ferrari (UAE Team Emirates)


6Enrique Sanz (Euskadi Basque Country-Murias)


7Egan Bernal (Team Sky)


8Danilo Wyss (BMC)


9José Joaquin Rojas (Movistar)


10Benoit Jarrier (Fortuneo-Samsic)


General classification after stage 6:

1Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)


2Egan Bernal (Team Sky)


3Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


4Pierre Latour (AG2R La Mondiale)


5Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)


6Marc Soler (Movistar)


7George Bennett (LottoNL-Jumbo)


8Hugh Carthy (EF Education First-Drapac)


9Daniel Martinez (EF Education First-Drapac)


10Jesper Hansen (Astana)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here