Peters storms to Giro 17th stage win as Carapaz extends lead


Nans Peters claimed his first professional victory by winning the 17th stage of the Giro d’Italia on Wednesday, while Richard Carapaz celebrated his birthday by extending his overall lead.

The AG2R La Mondiale rider used a late solo breakaway to win the 181-kilometer stage from Commezzadura to Anterselva, near the Austrian border.

”My Giro was already a success but it’s incredible to get my first pro win in a Grand Tour,” Peters said. ”In the breakaway, I promised myself to attack only once and the timing proved to be right.”

Esteban Chaves (Mitchelton-Scott) was second, 1:34 behind Peters as Davide Formolo (Bora-hansgrohe) won the sprint for third. They had all been part of a large breakaway before Peters attacked with 16 kilometers remaining.

Carapaz, who turned 26 on Wednesday, extended his lead to 1:54 over home favorite Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida) and 2:16 over Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma).

His teammate, Mikel Landa, attacked with three kilometers remaining to cut the gap to the top three. Landa remained fourth but is now 3:03 behind Carapaz.

”Mikel Landa felt good in the finale and decided to attack to gain some time for the final podium,” Carapaz said. ”I also felt good and I did my best to profit from Mikel’s attack. I couldn’t have asked for a better 26th birthday than with the Maglia Rosa.”

Thursday’s 18th stage is a mainly downhill route on the 222-kilometer ride from Valdaora to Santa Maria di Sala.

Giro d’Italia 2019 – stage 17 results (Commezzadura – Anterselva):

1 Nans Peters (AG2R La Mondiale)


2 Esteban Chaves (Mitchelton-Scott)


3 Davide Formolo (Bora-hansgrohe)


4 Fausto Masnada (Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec)


5 Krists Neilands (Israel Cycling Academy)


6 Tanel Kangert (EF Education First)


7 Valerio Conti (UAE Team Emirates)


8 Gianluca Brambilla (Trek-Segafredo)


9 Christopher Hamilton (Team Sunweb)


10 Andrea Vendrame (Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec)


11 Thomas De Gendt (Lotto Soudal)


12 Koen Bouwman (Jumbo-Visma)


13 Victor De La Parte (CCC)


14 Amaro Antunes (CCC)


15 Jan Bakelants (Team Sunweb)


16 Nicola Conci (Trek-Segafredo)


17 Mirco Maestri (Bardiani-CSF)


18 Bob Jungels (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


19 Mikel Landa (Movistar)


20 Richard Carapaz (Movistar)



Giro d’Italia 2019 – general classification after stage 17:

1 Richard Carapaz (Movistar)


2 Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida)


3 Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma)


4 Mikel Landa (Movistar)


5 Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo)


6 Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana)


7 Rafal Majka (Bora-hansgrohe)


8 Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)


9 Pavel Sivakov (Team Ineos)


10 Davide Formolo (Bora-hansgrohe)


11 Jan Polanc (UAE Team Emirates)


12 Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin)


13 Hugh Carthy (EF Education First)


14 Joe Dombrowski (EF Education First)


15 Valentin Madouas (Groupama-FDJ)


16 Fausto Masnada (Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec)


17 Giulio Ciccone (Trek-Segafredo)


18 Mikel Nieve (Mitchelton-Scott)


19 Victor de la Parte (CCC)


20 Tanel Kangert (EF Education First)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here