Peter Sagan surges to Paris-Roubaix triumph

Peter Sagan Paris Roubaix 2018

Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe) won 2018 Paris-Roubaix after he attacked from a group of favourites with 54km remaining. Silvan Dillier (AG2R La Mondiale) was second as Niki Terpstra (Quick-Step Floors) came home third.

Sagan became the first world champion to win Paris-Roubaix since Bernard Hinault 37 years ago.

The three-time world champion and Dillier rode together at the front for the last 25 kilometers. Sagan launched the sprint in the Roubaix Velodrome and used his greater power to prevail.

Niki Terpstra, who won the Tour of Flanders last week and the 2014 edition of Paris-Roubaix, completed the podium.

“This is amazing,” Sagan said. “I have to say that this year, I was never involved in a crash, I never flat tired, I saved energy and then just did one step forward; I attacked. I kept going until the finish.

“I, now, stayed much better this year than in all the other years that I have finished Paris-Roubaix, where I was much more tired than today.

“I am very happy. I have to say thank you to all my teammates because they did a great job. They kept the group all together from the start. I did my winning move with 50km to go and I’m very happy to come first. It’s an amazing feeling.”

Michael Goolaerts of Belgium was involved in a crash and was taken to hospital amid unconfirmed reports he suffered a cardiac arrest. His Veranda’s Willems-Crelan team said ”there is no further news at the moment.”

Paris-Roubaix 2018 results:

1 Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe)


2 Silvan Dillier (AG2R La Mondiale)


3 Niki Terpstra (Quick-Step Floors)


4 Greg Van Avermaet (BMC)


5 Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo)


6 Sep Vanmarcke (EF Education First-Drapac)


7 Nils Politt (Katusha-Alpecin)


8 Taylor Phinney (EF Education First-Drapac)


9 Zdenek Stybar (Quick-Step Floors)


10 Jens Debusschere (Lotto Soudal)


11 Mike Teunissen (Team Sunweb)


12 Oliver Naesen (AG2R La Mondiale)


13 Wout Van Aert (Veranda’s Willems Crelan)


14 Jelle Wallays (Lotto Soudal)


15 Philippe Gilbert (Quick-Step Floors)


16 Amund Jansen (LottoNl-Jumbo)


17 John Degenkolb (Trek-Segafredo)


18 Marco Marcato (UAE Team Emirates)


19 Dylan van Baarle (Team Sky)


20 Heinrich Haussler (Bahrain-Merida)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here