Mullen wins stage 3 time trial, Ganna grabs hold of overall lead in San Juan

Ryan Mullen

Ryan Mullen (Trek-Segafredo) won the time trial on stage 3 of the Vuelta a San Juan as Filippo Ganna (UAE Team Emirates) moved into the overall lead of the race.

The 23-year-old clocked a time of 17:43 on the 14.4km out-and-back course in San Juan, raced on road bikes, with Filippo Ganna finishing second at 25 seconds and Rafal Majka (Bora-hansgrohe) finishing third at 30 seconds, a fraction of a second quicker than Gregory Daniel (Trek-Segafredo).

“The course was very well suited to me, maybe I would have preferred it a little bit longer, but it was pretty close to being perfect for me. But I misjudged the pacing a little bit; I went out a little bit too hard and then the last four kilometers it was a pretty hard headwind, and I kind of came off the pace a little bit there”, said Mullen.

“I really suffered in the heat as well for the last four or five minutes, so it was more a case of just hanging on and keeping a little bit of rhythm and not lose too much time. Luckily I held on!”

Vuelta a San Juan 2018 – stage 3 results (San Juan – San Juan ITT):

1 Ryan Mullen (Trek-Segafredo)


2 Filippo Ganna (UAE Team Emirates)


3 Rafal Majka (Bora-hansgrohe)


4 Gregory Daniel (Trek-Segafredo)


5 Oscar Sevilla (Medellin-Inder)


6 Winner Anacona (Movistar)


7 Omar Mendoza (Medellin-Inder)


8 Remi Cavagna (Quick-Step Floors)


9 Eduardo Sepulveda (Movistar)


10 Jhonatan Narvaez (Quick-Step Floors)


General classification after stage 3:

1 Filippo Ganna (UAE Team Emirates)


2 Rafal Majka (Bora-hansgrohe)


3 Oscar Sevilla (Medellin-Inder)


4 Omar Mendoza (Medellin-Inder)


5 Eduardo Sepulveda (Movistar)


6 Ricardo Escuela (Agrupacion Virgen De Fatima)


7 Winner Anacona (Movistar)


8 Jhonatan Narvaez (Quick-Step Floors)


9 Kanstantin Siutsou (Bahrain-Merida)


10 Matti Cattaneo (Androni-Sidermec-Bottecchia)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here