Home News Maximiliano Richeze claims stage 4 at Vuelta a San Juan

Maximiliano Richeze claims stage 4 at Vuelta a San Juan

Maximiliano Richeze

Maximiliano Richeze (Quick-Step Floors) claimed stage 4 at the 2018 Vuelta a San Juan ahead of Giacomo Nizzolo (Trek-Segafredo) and Matteo Pelucchi (Bora-hansgrohe) in bunch sprint.

It was a crazy and atypical day at the South American race, where overnight heavy rain complicated things during the stage and even forced the organizers to neutralize the race in the final 20 kilometers so that the riders could pass a river that overtopped its banks. That wasn’t the only incident on the last stage before a rest day, with a crash occurred about 50 kilometers from the finish taking several riders to the ground.

Stage 1 winner Fernando Gaviria was among those involved, and the 23-year-old Colombian, the main favourite in case of another bunch sprint, was taken to the hospital for further tests, after initial examination by the team doctor didn’t reveal any concussions or broken bones.

“I am very happy that I can win this stage,” the 34-year-old said. “We have lost Fernando Gaviria in a crash and he has abandoned the race. But after that the team decided to prepare this sprint for me. What they do for Fernando they did for me. Maybe the perfect work for me, so I am happy I can win here in my home in Argentina.”

Vuelta a San Juan 2018 – stage 4 results (San José Jachal – Villa San Agustín):

1Maximiliano Richeze (Quick-Step Floors)


2Giacomo Nizzolo (Trek-Segafredo)


3Matteo Pelucchi (Bora-hansgrohe)


4Mihkel Raim (Israel Cycling Academy)


5Niccolo Bonifazio (Bahrain-Merida)


6Edwin Avila (Israel Cycling Academy)


7Jens Keukeleire (Lotto Soudal)


8Mauro Richeze (Agrupacion Virgen De Fatima)


9Jose Alvaro Hodeg (Quick-Step Floors)


10Travis McCabe (UnitedHealthcare)


General classification after stage 4:

1Filippo Ganna (UAE Team Emirates)


2Rafal Majka (Bora-hansgrohe)


3Oscar Sevilla (Medellin-Inder)


4Omar Mendoza (Medellin-Inder)


5Jhonatan Narvaez (Quick-Step Floors)


6Kanstantin Siutsou (Bahrain-Merida)


7Mattia Cattaneo (Androni-Sidermec-Bottecchia)


8Tiesj Benoot (Lotto Soudal)


9Remi Cavagna (Quick-Step Floors)


10Rodolfo Torres (Androni-Sidermec-Bottecchia)