Home News Local rider Najar takes Vuelta a San Juan queen stage, overall lead

Local rider Najar takes Vuelta a San Juan queen stage, overall lead

Gonzalo Najar

Gonzolo Najar (S.E.P de San Juan) took his biggest result of his career soloing to an impressive victory on the queen stage of the Vuelta a San Juan atop Alto de Colorado.

With around 16 kilometres to go, Najar made his move and attacked taking his teammate Jose Rodriguez with him. At the last kilometres, the Argentinean continued on his own and Oscar Sevilla (Medellin-Inder) and Rodolfo Torres (Androni-Sidermec-Bottecchia) went hunting, but couldn’t close the gap.

“I have to say thank you to all the people here along the roadside,” Najar said. “In my mind I had quite a lot of things in the last kilometre. I felt a lot of support from the people, and thankfully this stage was like we planned in the morning.”

“When we attacked the descent before the final climb, Lotto was starting to push hard and I saw that my legs were good,” he said. “First my teammate Dotti tried and then it was my turn. I think I calculated perfectly my attack.

“I was here two or three times training, and then in the morning we woke up very early at six o’clock in the morning and our sports director showed us a video that motivated us a lot to try and surge the general classification today.”

Vuelta a San Juan 2018 – stage 5 results (San Martín – Alto de Colorado):

1Gonzalo Najar (S.E.P. de San Juan)


2Oscar Sevilla (Medellin-Inder)


3Rodolfo Torres (Androni-Sidermec-Bottecchia)


4Roman Villalovos (Canels-Specialized)


5Tiesj Benoot (Lotto Soudal)


6Eduardo Sepulveda (Movistar)


7Filippo Ganna (UAE Team Emirates)


8Cristian Muñoz (Coldeportes-Zenu)


9Dayer Quintana (Movistar)


10Darwin Atapuma (UAE Team Emirates)


General classification after stage 5:

1Gonzalo Najar (S.E.P. de San Juan)


2Oscar Sevilla (Medellin-Inder)


3Filippo Ganna (UAE Team Emirates)


4Rodolfo Torres (Androni-Sidermec-Bottecchia)


5Rafal Majka (Bora-hansgrohe)


6Tiesj Benoot (Lotto Soudal)


7Omar Mendoza (Medellin-Inder)


8Dayer Quintana (Movistar)


9Kanstantsin Suitsou (Bahrain-Merida)


10Rémi Cavagna (Quick-Step Floors)