Kittel edges out Sagan to take stage 2 in Tirreno-Adriatico

Marcel Kittel tirreno adriatico 2018

Marcel Kittel claimed his first win of 2018 by sprinting to victory in a crash-marred Tirreno-Adriatico second stage on Thursday while Patrick Bevin took the overall lead.

Kittel was helped by his Katusha-Alpecin team before he edged out Peter Sagan and Giacomo Nizzolo in a bunch sprint following a mostly flat, 167-kilometer journey from Camaiore to Follonica.

”I’ve been waiting a long time for this victory,” Kittel said. ”The team did a very good job today. I have to say a big, big thank you to everyone for helping me.”

Patrick Bevin finished fifth to replace BMC colleague Damiano Caruso as race leader. The duo have the same time, along with Greg Van Avermaet and Rohan Dennis, after the team’s victory in Wednesday’s opening time trial.

”It’s a really weird feeling to take a jersey off a teammate, especially one that’s here to lead the race,” Bevin said. ”I don’t mind babysitting it for a day.”

The crash in the peloton, which held up all bar 30 or so riders, came with seven kilometers remaining. All of the race favorites emerged unscathed to finish in the front group.

Mark Cavendish did not start after a crash the previous day led to the British rider sustaining facial injuries and a broken rib.¬†Cavendish had only just returned after being concussed following a similar incident on the opening stage of last month’s Abu Dhabi Tour.

”It’s frustrating to have crashed…but I’m just pleased there’s no major damage done,” he said.

Friday’s stage is a hilly, 239-kilometer route from Follonica to Trevi.

Tirreno-Adriatico 2018 – stage 2 results (Camaiore – Follonica):

1 Marcel Kittel (Katusha-Alpecin)


2 Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe)


3 Giacomo Nizzolo (Trek-Segafredo)


4 Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky)


5 Patrick Bevin (BMC)


6 Jakub Mareczko (Wilier Triestina-Selle Italia)


7 Fernando Gaviria (Quick-Step Floors)


8 Danny van Poppel (LottoNL-Jumbo)


9 Eduard Grosu (RNippo-Vini Fantini-Europa Ovini)


10 Simone Consonni (UAE Team Emirates)



General classification after stage 2:

1 Patrick Bevin (BMC)


2 Damiano Caruso (BMC)


3 Greg Van Avermaet (BMC)


4 Rohan Dennis (BMC)


5 Daryl Impey (Mitchelton-Scott)


6 Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky)


7 Geraint Thomas (Team Sky)


8 Salvatore Puccio (Team Sky)


9 Chris Froome (Team Sky)


10 Jonathan Castroviejo (Team Sky)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here