Van der Poel won €2,000 for his 5th place in Milano-Sanremo

A beautiful course with a view of the Italian Riviera, arrival in a fashionable seaside city and Italian beauty everywhere along the way, this is the first monument of the season, Milano-Sanremo.

But La Primavera is tough test for the cyclists, the longest race they ride in a road cycling season. However, if we talk about money, only the top 20 riders over the finish line get a cash prize.

The surprising winner Jasper Stuyven took almost half of the total prize fund, with €20,000 for his victory, from the total of €50,000. Caleb Ewan earned €10,000, while Wout van Aert, who won the race last year, won a very modest €5,000 for his efforts after almost seven hours in the saddle.

  1. Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo) €20,000
  2. Caleb Ewan (Lotto Soudal) €10,000
  3. Wout Van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) €5,000
  4. Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe) €2,500
  5. Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin-Fenix) €2,000
  6. Michael Matthews (BikeExchange) €1,500
  7. Alex Aranburu Deba (Astana-Premier Tech) €1,500
  8. Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain Victorious) €1,000
  9. Søren Kragh Andersen (Team DSM) €1,000
  10. Anthony Turgis (Total Direct Energie) €500
  11. Matej Mohoric (Bahrain Victorious) €500
  12. Matteo Trentin (UAE Team Emirates) €500
  13. Greg van Avermaet (AG2R Citroën) €500
  14. Max Schachmann (Bora-hansgrohe) €500
  15. Tom Pidcock (Ineos Grenadiers) €500
  16. Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-QuickStep) €500
  17. Michal Kwiatkowski (Ineos Grenadiers) €500
  18. Giacomo Nizzolo (Qhubeka Assos) €500
  19. Nacer Bouhanni (Arkea-Samsic) €500
  20. Pascal Ackermann (Bora-hansgrohe) €500


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here