Gorka Izagirre solos to victory in Gran Trittico Lombardo


Astana dominated the Gran Trittico Lombardo on drenched roads with a first and second on the day as Gorka Izagirre took the victory after a solitary attack.

Izagirre established a gap of 36 seconds, and he maintained much of that into the final climb. Alex Aranburu won the field sprint, ahead of Greg Van Avermaet (CCC), Michał Kwiatkowski (Team Ineos), and Vincenzo Nibali (Trek-Segafredo).

“It was a wet day, but it was a beautiful one, too. It was a really hard race and this final circuit is very difficult. We had a small group get away and I managed to get a gap and then I was able to stay away alone,” said Izagirre.

“We’re all very happy because we worked well. [Fabio] Felline and [Matteo] Boaro did a good job. [Alexey] Lutsenko fell early in the race but it went well for us. We’re going well and we’re all happy with the result.”

Gran Trittico Lombardo 2020 results (Legnano – Varese):

1Gorka Izagirre (Astana)


2Alex Aranburu (Astana)


3Greg Van Avermaet (CCC)


4Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Ineos)


5Vincenzo Nibali (Trek-Segafredo)


6Jan Polanc (UAE Team Emirates)


7Nicola Bagioli (Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec)


8Louis Vervaeke (Alpecin-Fenix)


9Alessandro De Marchi (CCC)


10Jhonatan Narvaez  (Team Ineos)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here