Gaviria takes second win at Tour of Guangxi


Fernando Gaviria (UAE Team Emirates) took his second stage win in this year’s Tour of Guangxi as he out-sprinted Pascal Ackermann (Bora-hansgrohe) and Matteo Trentin (Mitchelton-Scott) on stage 5. 

The riders had four classified climbs to deal with, the last of which (1st category, 3.1 km at 5.5% average) came 38 km from the finish.

Four escapees launched a long-range attack before being taken back by the group at the foot of the last ascent. Despite some attacks on the uphill finish, the peloton managed to regroup in the remaining kilometers to the finish line.

At 150 meters from the finish Gaviria made his move, storming up the left side of the road and pressing on to bring his win tally up to six this season.

“My teammates had a huge part to play in this victory. I’m very happy with my performance today”, said Gaviria. “It’s never easy, at the end of the season, racing in races over 200 km, as happened today.”

“I felt good all day long, and I kept climbing hard trying to stay close to the main group and then caught back up to the leaders thanks to the support of the team. In the sprint, I was able to start from a good position and had great legs so I could pull off the win. ”

Tour of Guangxi 2019 – stage 5 results (Liuzhou – Guilin):

1 Fernando Gaviria (UAE Team Emirates)


2 Pascal Ackermann (Bora-hansgrohe)


3 Matteo Trentin (Mitchelton-Scott)


4 Phil Bauhaus (Bahrain-Merida)


5 Timothy Dupont (Wanty-Gobert)


6 Ben Swift (Team Ineos)


7 Max Kanter (Team Sunweb)


8 Davide Martinelli (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


9 John Degenkolb (Trek-Segafredo)


10 Victor Campenaerts (Lotto Soudal)



Tour of Guangxi 2019 – general classification after stage 5:

1 Enric Mas (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


2 Daniel Martinez (EF Education First)


3 Diego Rosa (Team Ineos)


4 Antwan Tolhoek (Jumbo – Visma)


5 Felix Grossschartner (Bora – hansgrohe)


6 Odd Christian Eiking (Wanty – Gobert)


7 Carl Fredrik Hagen (Lotto Soudal)


8 David de la Cruz (Team Ineos)


9 Davide Villella (Astana)


10 Martijn Tusveld (Team Sunweb)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here