Evenepoel smashes time trial to seal Volta ao Algarve win

Remco Evenepoel (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) beat world time trial champion Rohan Dennis (Team Ineos) in the Stage 5 time trial to seal overall victory at Volta ao Algarve.

The young Belgian blasted over the course, knocking back Dennis who beat him in Yorkshire, and won his second stage race in two starts.

“I went full gas today, and by the time I finished I knew the GC was safe, but nobody knew what was the stage result,” Evenepoel said. “It was only when Tom [Steels] told me the result in the radio that I was relieved and could celebrate this win, which was important, as it came against the World ITT Champion and after a hard week of racing, where I went all out on both summit finishes, but also on today’s hard course.”

Max Schachmann (Bora-Hansgrohe) and Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana) finished second and third in general classification respectively.

Volta ao Algarve 2020 – stage 5 results (Lagoa – Lagoa ITT):

1Remco Evenepoel (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


2Rohan Dennis (Team Ineos)


3Stefan Küng (Groupama-FDJ)


4Maximilian Schachmann (Bora-hansgrohe)


5Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana)


6Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Ineos)


7Patrick Bevin (CCC)


8Yves Lampaert (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


9Nils Politt (Israel Start-Up Nation)


10Mads Würtz Schmidt (Israel Start-Up Nation)



Volta ao Algarve 2020 – final general classification:

1Remco Evenepoel (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


2Maximilian Schachmann (Bora-hansgrohe)


3Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana)


4Rui Costa (UAE Team Emirates)


5Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal)


6Simon Geschke (CCC)


7Lennard Kämna (Bora-hansgrohe)


8Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo)


9Joao Almeida (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


10Amaro Antunes (W52/FC Porto)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here