Demare wins crash-affected stage 10 as Conti keeps Giro lead


Arnaud Demare sprinted to victory after a crash affected the end of the 10th stage of the Giro d’Italia on Tuesday, while Valerio Conti kept the overall lead.

The Groupama-FDJ rider edged out Elia Viviani and Rudiger Selig in a bunch sprint at the end of the entirely flat 145-kilometer (90-mile) route from Ravenna to Modena.

”We came to the Giro for this. I really wanted a stage win and I got it,” Demare said. ”I avoided the crash because we, as a team, were very well positioned. I’m super happy.”

A crash inside the final kilometer ended Pascal Ackermann’s chances of claiming a third stage win at this year’s Giro. The German cyclist finished the stage with his shorts and jersey in tatters.

Ackermann appeared to touch wheels with the rider in front of him, causing him to go down and taking out a number of other cyclists.

The most seriously injured was Matteo Moschetti, who briefly lost consciousness. His Trek-Segafredo teammates and other cyclists frantically waved over medics and Moschetti attempted to stand but swiftly sat down again. The 22-year-old was taken to a hospital.

As the crash happened inside the final three kilometers there were no time gaps given. Conti remained 1 minute, 50 seconds ahead of Primoz Roglic and 2:21 ahead of Nans Peters.

”It wasn’t a hard day but, as everyone saw, danger is always around the corner,” Conti said. ”Luckily I managed to avoid all the crashes. It went well, another day in the pink jersey is a source of pride.”

Wednesday’s 11th stage is also entirely flat along the 221-kilometer route from Carpi to Novi Ligure.

Giro d’Italia 2019 – stage 10 results (Ravenna – Modena):

1 Arnaud Demare (Groupama-FDJ)


2 Elia Viviani (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


3 Rüdiger Selig (Bora-hansgrohe)


4 Caleb Ewan (Lotto Soudal)


5 Giacomo Nizzolo (Dimension Data)


6 Davide Cimolai (Israel Cycling Academy)


7 Manuel Belletti (Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec)


8 Giovanni Lonardi (Nippo-Vini Fantini-Faizane)


9 Jasper De Buyst (Lotto Soudal)


10 Jacopo Guarnieri (Groupama-FDJ)


11 Fabio Sabatini (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


12 Sean Bennett (EF Education First)


13 Tobias Ludvigsson (Groupama-FDJ)


14 Roger Kluge (Lotto Soudal)


15 Florian Senechal (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


16 Josef Cerny (CCC)


17 Ramon Sinkeldam (Groupama-FDJ)


18 Viacheslav Kuznetsov (Katusha-Alpecin)


19 Marco Marcato (UAE Team Emirates)


20 Kristian Sbaragli (Israel Cycling Academy)



Giro d’Italia 2019 – general classification after stage 10:

1 Valerio Conti (UAE Team Emirates)


2 Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma)


3 Nans Peters (AG2R La Mondiale)


4 José Joaquin Rojas (Movistar)


5 Fausto Masnada (Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec)


6 Andrey Amador (Movistar)


7 Amaro Antunes (CCC)


8 Valentin Madouas (Groupama-FDJ)


9 Giovanni Carboni (Bardiani-CSF)


10 Pello Bilbao (Astana)


11 Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida)


12 Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo)


13 Pieter Serry (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


14 Bob Jungels (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


15 Mattia Cattaneo (Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec)


16 Hugh Carthy (EF Education First)


17 Davide Formolo (Bora-hansgrohe)


18 Rafal Majka (Bora-hansgrohe)


19 Sam Oomen (Team Sunweb)


20 Richard Carapaz (Movistar)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here