Demare claims stage 2 of Tour de Wallonie after tight sprint


Arnaud Demare (Groupama-FDJ) outsprinted Caleb Ewan (Lotto Soudal) to claim stage 2 of the Tour de Wallonie after a thrilling finish.

Daniel McLay and Nacer Bouhanni, both Arkea-Samsic, finished third and fourth.

“I decided to take Caleb Ewan’s wheel at 400 meters because Jacopo had put in a lot of effort before,” explained Demare. “I waited for him to launch the sprint, but from the moment we hit our top speed, I felt able to overpass him. That’s what happened and it’s great. It was a short sprint, of about 150 meters. It’s not what I’m used to do, but it was the right timing today.

“It’s another win in front of a good field, and there was again a strong teamwork, even if we did not see them in the last kilometre. Today, the upstream work was important. You had to stay in front to stay to save energy and we did that well.”

Tour de Wallonie 2020 – stage 2 results (Frasnes-lez-Anvaing – Wavre):

1 Arnaud Demare (Groupama-FDJ)


2 Caleb Ewan (Lotto Soudal)


3 Daniel McLay (Arkea-Samsic)


4 Nacer Bouhanni (Arkea-Samsic)


5 Florian Senechal (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


6 Zdenek Stybar (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


7 Giacomo Nizzolo (NTT)


8 Dries Van Gestel (Total Direct Energie)


9 Lionel Taminiaux (Bingoal WB)


10 Edward Planckaert (Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise)



Tour de Wallonie 2020 – general classification after stage 2:

1 Caleb Ewan (Lotto Soudal)


2 Dries De Bondt (Alpecin-Fenix)


3 Arnaud Demare (Groupama-FDJ)


4 Jens Reynders (Hagens Berman Axeon)


5 Daniel McLay (Arkea-Samsic)


6 Tom Wirtgen (Bingoal WB)


7 James Fouche (Hagens Berman Axeon)


8 Nacer Bouhanni (Arkea-Samsic)


9 Arvid De Kleijn (Riwal Readynez)


10 Lionel Taminiaux (Bingoal WB)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here