Danny van Poppel wins the Herald Sun Tour prologue to take the first leader’s jersey

Danny van Poppel

Danny van Poppel (Team Sky) has won the prologue at the 2017 Jayco Herald Sun Tour, setting a new course record in the process.

Van Poppel set the winning time of 2min 32.56sec then sat in the hot seat for the duration of the 2.1km prologue held in Melbourne. He finished ahead of JLT Condor pair Brenton Jones and Alex Frame.

“It’s important for me in this team that when I get a chance, I take it,” van Poppel said. “That’s why I was so focused on this prologue. It feels good and I’m really happy.”

“I hope that I can give it tomorrow to Chris [Froome],” van Poppel added. “Tomorrow is a nice day for Chris and the team so we go full for him.

“I think I will be one of the first guys to work for Chris, which is maybe a bit strange with the yellow jersey, but we have some really good climbers, some smaller guys, so they will stay with him.”

Herald Sun Tour 2017 – stage 1 results:

1Danny van Poppel (Team Sky)


2Brenton Jones (JLT Condor)


3Alex Frame (JLT Condor)


4Michael Hepburn (Orica-Scott)


5Leigh Howard (Aqua Blue Sport)


6Anthony Giacoppo (IsoWhey Sports SwissWellness)


7Jesse Kerrison (IsoWhey Sports SwissWellness)


8Ian Bibby (JLT Condor)


9Travis McCabe (UnitedHealthcare)


10Cameron Bayly (IsoWhey Sports SwissWellness)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here