Damiano Caruso solos to victory at Circuito de Getxo


Damiano Caruso (Bahrain McLaren) soloed to victory at the Circuito de Getxo as Giacomo Nizzolo (NTT) and Eduard Prades (Movistar) completed the podium of the 75th edition of the Basque race.

Just before the last climb of the day, Mikel Landa crashed, forcing Bahrain McLaren to change tactics. During this climb a new leading group of five riders emerged, when Gonzalo Serrano (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA), Biniam Ghirmay (Nippo Delko), Damiano Caruso and Pello Bilbao (Bahrain – McLaren), Juan Pedro López (Trek–Segafredo) managed to separate themselves from the rest. Moments later, Nelson Oliveira (Movistar) also joined.

In the descent, with 12 kilometres to go, Ghirmay, Serrano and López fell, leaving three leaders.

In the final phase, Bahrain McLaren played their two cards perfectly, when Caruso jumped away from his fellow escapees. Bilbao and Oliveira were caught shortly after by the peloton.

Caruso’s lead turned out to be big enough to stay ahead of his pursuers and to book the second professional victory of his career. Giacomo Nizzolo was late and had to settle for second place.

Circuito de Getxo 2020 results (Getxo – Getxo):

1 Damiano Caruso (Bahrain McLaren)


2 Giacomo Nizzolo (NTT)


3 Eduard Prades (Movistar)


4 Ion Aberasturi (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA)


5 Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo)


6 Pello Bilbao (Bahrain McLaren)


7 Charles Planet (Novo Nordisk)


8 Mauro Finetto (Nippo Delko One Provence)


9 Eliot Lietaer (Bingoal-Wallonie Bruxelles)


10 Miguel Florez (Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here