BMC goes back to back at Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana team time trial

BMC Racing

BMC continued their dominance in the team time trial at the Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana by smashing the 23km course to claim the win for the second consecutive year.

Heavy rain and strong winds early in the day put the race in doubt but eventually the race organizers and UCI commissaires decided to proceed but neutralize the result from the General Classification.

Fortunately, the rain had cleared and the roads had mostly dried by the time the first team rolled out.

As the fourth to last team to roll down the ramp, BMC was chasing the fastest provisional time of 29’01” set by Gazprom-RusVelo, which was later bettered by AG2R La Mondiale.

With the time taken from the fourth rider to finish, Greg Van Avermaet led Brent Bookwalter, Stefan Küng, and Jürgen Roelandts across the line and stopped the clock at 27’25” which was an impressive 50.77km/hour average speed for BMC.

Astana and AG2R La Mondiale completed the podium, 1’08” and 1’12” behind respectively.

Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana 2018 – stage 3 results (Benitatxell – Calpe TTT):



2 Astana


3 AG2R La Mondiale


4 CCC Sprandi Polkowice


5 Gazprom-RusVelo


6 Katusha-Alpecin


7 Euskadi-Murias


8 Sport Vlaanderen – Baloise


9 Cofidis


10 Direct Energie


General classification after stage 3:

1 Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)


2 Luis Leon Sanchez (Astana)


3 Jakob Fuglsang (Astana)


4 Wout Poels (Team Sky)


5 Diego Rosa (Team Sky)


6 Pello Bilbao (Astana)


7 Greg Van Avermaet (BMC)


8 David De La Cruz (Team Sky)


9 Primoz Roglic (LottoNl-Jumbo)


10 Brent Bookwalter (BMC)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here