ASO announce end of Critérium International

jens voigt criterium international

The Critérium International will not be held in 2017. Amaury Sport Organisation (ASO) have announced that the race will not take place in 2017, bringing the 85-year history of the race to a close.

The reason is the declining interest from the peloton in a very busy weekend in March when E3 Harelbeke, Gent-Wevelgem, Volta a Catalunya and Settimana Coppi  Bartali also take place.

The French stage race was first held in 1932. The competition has regularly changed location, but until 2009 it was mainly held in the Champagne-Ardennes region. Since 2010, the Critérium International has been held around Porto-Vecchio, on the island of Corsica.

“After seven years of excellent collaboration with the city of Porto-Vecchio, host city of the 100th Tour de France in 2013, Amaury Sport Organisation and the representatives of the community have decided to not renew their agreements concerning the Critérium International. However, the relationships that have developed over time will continue to produce cycling related events,” read the ASO statement.

“For its part ASO has taken the decision to end the organisation of the event. While the winners have been of the highest quality, the peloton has seen a drop in density, due to the number of events taking place at this time of the season.”

Jens Voigt, Raymond Poulidor and Emile Idée hold the record for the most number of wins, with five victories.  Thibaut Pinot (FDJ) won the Critérium International in 2016 ahead of Pierre Latour (Ag2r) and Sam Oomen (Giant-Alpecin).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here