Ackermann takes another impressive stage win at the Tour of Poland

Pascal Ackermann wins stage 2 Tour of Poland 2018

Pascal Ackermann (Bora-hansgrohe) took a second victory in 24 hours after he outsprinted in spectacular fashion Alvaro Hodeg (Quick-Step Floors) and Giacomo Nizzolo (Trek-Segafredo) to win stage two in Tour of Poland.

The second day of the race saw riders tackling a similarly undulating parcours to the first stage in Kraków, with two categorized climbs over its 156km length, both coming towards the end of the stage, where the route covered a 20km finishing circuit four times.

While there was a slight kick up to the finale, the stage has traditionally been earmarked for a sprint, and barring any upsets, it was likely this would be the case today.

In a hectic finale, Pascal Ackermann sprinted to his second consecutive stage win at the Tour of Poland extending his lead both the overall and sprint classifications.

“It was risky because I was going too fast in the end to find a perfect line and then I had to go to the right side,” Ackermann said. “It was critical but it was OK, I think.”

Tour of Poland 2018 – stage 2 results (Tarnowskie Gory – Katowice):

1 Pascal Ackermann (Bora-hansgrohe)


2 Alvaro Hodeg (Quick-Step Floors)


3 Giacomo Nizzolo (Trek-Segafredo)


4 Luka Mezgec (Mitchelton-Scott)


5 Simone Consonni (UAE Team Emirates)


6 Niccolo Bonifazio (Bahrain-Merida)


7 Marc Sarreau (Groupama-FDJ)


8 Mike Teunissen (Team Sunweb)


9 Clement Venturini (AG2R La Mondiale)


10 Kamil Zielinski (Poland)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here