Home Grand Tours Giro d'Italia Wellens claims hill-filled fourth stage of Giro d’Italia as Froome loses time

Wellens claims hill-filled fourth stage of Giro d’Italia as Froome loses time

Tim Wellens giro 2018 stage 4

Tim Wellens (Lotto Fix All) won the fourth stage of the Giro d’Italia on Tuesday, the first on Italian soil in this year’s race, while Chris Froome’s hopes of a third straight Grand Tour victory took another hit.

Wellens won a sprint on an uphill finish, holding off Michael Woods (EF Education First-Drapac) and Enrico Battaglin (LottoNL-Jumbo) following the 202km ride between Catania and Caltagirone in Sicily.

Rohan Dennis (BMC) retained the overall leader’s pink jersey after the first of three days on the Mediterranean island. Chris Froome lost up to 20 seconds on his rivals on the final climb.

Wednesday’s fifth stage will cover 153km between Agrigente and Santa Ninfa.

:This feels much more special because until the last 150 metres I was not sure of winning, so then when you pass over the finish line, it feels so good,” Wellens said.

“It was turning and twisting all day; it was not so easy. In the end, my teammates took me perfectly to the front. Adam [Hansen] did a really long pull, and then Tosh [Van der Sande] was pulling, and it was splitting behind us. I had to be careful not to go too soon because I knew it as still far out. I had a little advantage and so could start the climb easy, then I went full gas at 200 metres.”

Giro d’Italia 2018 – stage 4 results (Catania – Caltagirone ):

1Tim Wellens (Lotto Fix All)


2Michael Woods (EF Education First-Drapac)


3Enrico Battaglin (LottoNL-Jumbo)


4Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)


5Davide Formolo (Bora-hansgrohe)


6Roman Kreuziger (Mitchelton-Scott)


7Patrick Konrad (Bora-hansgrohe)


8Luis León Sanchez (Astana)


9Domenico Pozzovivo (Bahrain-Merida)


10Esteban Chaves (Mitchelton-Scott)


11Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb)


12Rohan Dennis (BMC)


13Thibaut Pinot (Groupama-FDJ)


14George Bennett (LottoNL-Jumbo)


15Pello Bilbao (Astana)


16Richard Carapaz (Movistar)


17Louis Meintjes (Dimension Data)


18Fabio Aru (UAE Team Emirates)


19Diego Ulissi (UAE Team Emirates)


20Carlos Betancur (Movistar)



General classification after stage 4:

1Rohan Dennis (BMC)


2Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb)


3Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)


4Tim Wellens (Lotto Fix All)


5Pello Bilbao (Astana)


6Maximilian Schachmann (Quick-Step Floors)


7Domenico Pozzovivo (Bahrain-Merida)


8Thibaut Pinot (Groupama-FDJ)


9Patrick Konrad (Bora-hansgrohe)


10Carlos Betancur (Movistar)


11Jose Goncalves Katusha-Alpecin)


12Davide Formolo (Bora-hansgrohe)


13Diego Ulissi (UAE Team Emirates)


14Esteban Chaves (Mitchelton-Scott)


15Tanel Kangert (Astana)


16 Georg Preidler (Groupama-FDJ)


17Valerio Conti (UAE Team Emirates)


18Michael Woods (EF Education First-Drapac)


19Luis León Sanchez (Astana)


20Chris Froome (Team Sky)