Schachmann tightens grip on Paris-Nice lead as Andersen wins stage 4

Maximilian Schachmann (Bora-hansgrohe) strengthened his hold on the lead in the Paris-Nice race on Wednesday after finishing second in the time trial behind Soeren Kragh Andersen (Team Sunweb).

Schachmann finished the 15.1 kilometre ride in Saint-Amand-Montrond six seconds slower than Kragh Andersen.

The 26-year-old started the day with a 13-second lead and increased his advantage to 58 seconds.

Kragh Andersen jumped from 19th to second overall. His team leader Tiesj Benoot slipped to seventh, 12 seconds further back.

“I like some hills and tempo shifts so it was super good for me,” the Dane said after the victory. “I’m here to help the team and Tiesj. This was my chance. I’m so glad I took it.”

Thursday’s fifth stage is the longest of the event, a hilly 227km from Gannat to La Cote-Saint-Andre where the flat finish could give the sprinters a last chance to make an impact.

Paris-Nice 2020 – stage 4 results (Saint-Amand-Montrond – Saint-Amand-Montrond ITT):

1Søren Kragh Andersen (Team Sunweb)


2Maximilian Schachmann (Bora-hansgrohe)


3Kasper Asgreen (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


4Thomas De Gendt (Lotto Soudal)


5Pello Bilbao (Bahrain McLaren)


6Victor Campenaerts (NTT)


7Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb)


8Stefan Küng (Groupama-FDJ)


9Tobias Ludvigsson (Groupama-FDJ)


10Lawson Craddock (EF Pro Cycling)


Paris-Nice 2020 – general classification after stage 4:

1Maximilian Schachmann (Bora-hansgrohe)


2Søren Kragh Andersen (Team Sunweb)


3Felix Grossschartner (Bora-hansgrohe)


4Nils Politt (Israel Start-Up Nation)


5Sergio Higuita (EF Pro Cycling)


6Dylan Teuns (Bahrain McLaren)


7Tiesj Benoot (Team Sunweb)


8Mads Schmidt Würtz (Israel Start-Up Nation)


9Giacomo Nizzolo (NTT)


10Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here