Home Grand Tours Quintana takes stage 17 as Thomas extends Tour de France lead

Quintana takes stage 17 as Thomas extends Tour de France lead

Nairo Quintana wins stage 17 tour de france 2018

Geraint Thomas (Team Sky) moved a step closer to winning his maiden Tour de France after pushing Sky teammate Chris Froome down the standings on a 17th stage won by Nairo Quintana (Movistar).

Thomas held an overnight lead of 1min 39sec on compatriot Froome, but took it to 2:31 after the four-time champion crossed the finish 1:36 behind Quintana and nearly a minute off Thomas.

Daniel Martin (UAE Team Emirates) finished second at 28secs behind Quintana, with Thomas third at 47 and Primoz Roglic (LottoNL-Jumbo) in fourth at 52.

Froome’s failure to stay with Thomas in the final few kilometres of the 16 km climb to the finish of the Col du Portet amid a series of attacks by rivals means the Briton is in danger of finishing off the podium.

Tom Dumoulin finished behind Thomas but well ahead of Froome to move up to second place. Roglic, meanwhile, moved up to fourth overall just 16secs behind Froome.

Thomas will start Thursday’s 18th stage, a 171 km ride from Trie-sur-Blaise to Pau with a 1:59 lead on Dumoulin, with Froome in third.

“It was just about defending that lead,” said Thomas. “But it’s the Tour de France, so anything can happen.”

Froome appeared to abdicate his crown when he tipped his hat to Thomas at the finish.

“Geraint deserves to be in the yellow jersey, he’s earned it,” said Froome.

Quintana said: “I’m happy for the win. It was a day for the pure climbers. It’s also great for the morale of the team. It’s been frustrating, and sad because things didn’t work out the way we’d hoped. But we have to keep on fighting.”

Tour de France 2018 – stage 17 results (Bagnères-de-Luchon – Saint-Lary-Soulan):

1Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


2Daniel Martin (UAE Team Emirates)


3Geraint Thomas (Team Sky)


4Primoz Roglic (LottoNL-Jumbo)


5Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb)


6Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNL-Jumbo)


7Egan Bernal (Team Sky)


8Chris Froome (Team Sky)


9Mikel Landa (Movistar)


10Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin)


11Rafal Majka (Bora-hansgrohe)


12Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)


13Romain Bardet (AG2R La Mondiale)


14David Gaudu (Groupama-FDJ)


15Jakob Fuglsang (Astana)


16Warren Barguil (Fortuneo-Samsic)


17Bob Jungels (Quick-Step Floors)


18Jesper Hansen (Astana)


19Wout Poels (Team Sky)


20Tanel Kangert (Astana)



General classification after stage 17:

1Geraint Thomas (Team Sky)


2Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb)


3Chris Froome (Team Sky)


4Primoz Roglic (LottoNL-Jumbo)


5Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


6Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNL-Jumbo)


7Mikel Landa (Movistar)


8Romain Bardet (AG2R La Mondiale)


9Daniel Martin (UAE Team Emirates)


10Jakob Fuglsang (Astana)


11Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)


12Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin)


13Bob Jungels (Quick-Step Floors)


14Pierre Latour (AG2R La Mondiale)


15Guillaume Martin (Wanty – Groupe Gobert)


16Egan Bernal (Team Sky)


17Warren Barguil (Fortuneo-Samsic)


18Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo)


19Tanel Kangert (Astana)


20Damiano Caruso (BMC)