Home News Porte wins Willunga again in Tour Down Under as Impey seals overall...

Porte wins Willunga again in Tour Down Under as Impey seals overall victory

Richie Porte wins on Willunga Hill Tour Down Under 2019

Daryl Impey (Mitchelton-Scott) hung on up the torturous final Willunga Hill to become the first cyclist to win back-to-back titles at Tour Down Under outside Adelaide on Sunday.

Impey dug in to take this year’s general classification behind sixth-stage winner Richie Porte (Trek-Segafredo) up the physically-demanding three-kilometre climb to the finish line.

The Mitchelton-Scott rider beat Porte by 13 seconds in the general classification with Wouter Poels (Team Sky) a further four seconds away in third place overall.

No one has won consecutive titles in the 21 years of the Tour Down Under, while Porte, the 2017 Tour winner, has been runner-up four times.

“I never dreamed to come here and win twice in a row,” Impey said.

“Every year we come here with strong ambitions. I knew the competition is always tough. I just believed in myself, and it was just fantastic to pull it off.”

It was Porte’s sixth-consecutive victory up the notorious Willunga Hill stage but knowing he needed to win by 10 seconds to beat Impey, he sat up out of his saddle and gave everything to try to pinch the title at the summit.

But even though Porte reigned supreme yet again up the hill, Impey did enough to finish a few metres behind him and Poels, to secure the race’s GC.

Tour Down Under 2019 – stage 6 results (McLaren Vale – Willunga Hill):

1Richie Porte (Trek-Segafredo)


2Wout Poels (Team Sky)


3Daryl Impey (Mitchelton-Scott)


4Rohan Dennis (Bahrain-Merida)


5Luis Leon Sanchez (Astana)


6Chris Hamilton (Team Sunweb)


7Michael Woods (EF Education First)


8Diego Ulissi (UAE Team Emirates)


9Tom-Jelte Slagter (Dimension Data)


10Dries Devenyns (Deceuninck-QuickStep)



Tour Down Under 2019 – final general classification:

1Daryl Impey (Mitchelton-Scott)


2Richie Porte (Trek-Segafredo)


3Wout Poels (Team Sky)


4Luis Leon Sanchez (Astana)


5Rohan Dennis (Bahrain-Merida)


6Chris Hamilton (Team Sunweb)


7Michael Woods (EF Education First )


8Ruben Guerreiro (Katusha-Alpecin)


9Diego Ulissi (UAE Team Emirates)


10Dries Devenyns (Deceuninck-QuickStep)