Home Grand Tours Giro d'Italia Pinot triumphs on penultimate day of Giro, Dumoulin limits damage

Pinot triumphs on penultimate day of Giro, Dumoulin limits damage

Thibaut Pinot giro 2017 stage 20

Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb) limited his losses in the penultimate stage of the Giro d’Italia as Thibaut Pinot (FDJ) won the stage.

Nairo Quintana (Movistar) retained the maglia rosa but, with the first four riders within 53 seconds of the Colombian, the Giro 100 is set for a dramatic finale tomorrow in Milano.

Dumoulin finished the 190-km stage between Pordenone and Asiago 15 seconds behind Pinot (FDJ), who beat Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin) and Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida) for the stage 20 victory that also gave him a 10-second time bonus.

Domenico Pozzovivo (AG2R) took fourth place ahead of Quintana in the same time as Pinot with Dumoulin losing time after failing to follow the pure climbers in the last ascent.

“The time gaps are minimal and tomorrow is a flat time trial that is tailor-made for Dumoulin,” said Pinot.

Quintana leads Nibali by 39 seconds and Pinot by 43, with Dumoulin in fourth place overall 53 seconds off the pace.

Dumoulin has a big chance of leapfrogging the top three riders on Sunday in Milan to claim his maiden grand tour title.

“We tried to get a bigger gap but Tom has been very strong and is now the clear favorite tomorrow to win the race,” said Movistar team manager Eusebio Unzue.

Giro d’Italia 2017 – stage 20  results (Pordenone – Asiago):

1 Thibaut Pinot (FDJ)


2 Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin)


3 Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida)


4 Domenico Pozzovivo (AG2R)


5 Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


6 Bob Jungels (Quick-Step Floors)


7 Adam Yates (Orica-Scott)


8 Sébastien Reichenbach (FDJ)


9 Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo)


10 Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb)


11 Jan Hirt (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)


12 Patrick Konrad (Bora-hansgrohe)


13 Omar Fraile (Dimension Data)


14 Hubert Dupont (AG2R)


15 Jan Polanc (UAE Team Emirates)


16 Philip Deignan (Team Sky)


17 Enrico Battaglin (LottoNl-Jumbo)


18 Jesper Hansen (Astana)


19 Davide Formolo (Cannondale-Drapac)


20 Dario Cataldo (Astana)


General classification after stage 20:

1 Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


2 Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida)


3 Thibaut Pinot (FDJ)


4 Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb)


5 Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin)


6 Domenico Pozzovivo (AG2R)


7 Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo)


8 Adam Yates (Orica-Scott)


9 Bob Jungels (Quick-Step Floors)


10 Davide Formolo (Cannondale-Drapac)


11 Jan Polanc (UAE Team Emirates)


12 Jan Hirt (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)


13 Maxime Monfort (Lotto Soudal)


14 Dario Cataldo (Astana)


15 Sébastien Reichenbach (FDJ)


16 Patrick Konrad (Bora-hansgrohe)


17 Hubert Dupont (AG2R)


18 Mikel Landa (Team Sky)


19 Andrey Amador (Movistar)


20 Tejay Van Garderen (BMC)