Home Grand Tours Lone attack lands Alaphilippe maiden Tour de France stage victory

Lone attack lands Alaphilippe maiden Tour de France stage victory

Julian Alaphilippe wins stage 10 tour de francde 2018

Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors) turned on the style to secure his maiden Tour de France stage win on Tuesday as Greg Van Avermaet (BMC) stubbornly held on to the yellow jersey.

Alaphilippe launched an audacious lone attack on the third and penultimate climb and went on to solo over the finish several minutes ahead of the main peloton after a first day in the Alps marked by a yellow jersey truce.

“There’s a lot of emotion, because winning at the Tour is not easy,” Alaphilippe said. “I came close in my first Tour two years ago, and to win in this way, it’s unexpected because… I don’t even have the words… I’m just thinking about my family. I’m happy to make them happy. I’m happy for myself as well. Now I hope things go well for Bob [Jungels] on GC, and there are lots of great things still do, but today I really want to enjoy this.”

Van Avermaet appeared under threat at the beginning of the 158.5 km race from Annecy featuring four categorised climbs and with a downhill finish into Le Grand Bornand.

But the wily BMC rider exceeded expectations, joining an early breakaway that went on to build a healthy lead on the main peloton to stymie whatever plans Sky may have had of taking control of the race.

In the end, Van Avermaet produced a fantastic performance to finish 1min 43secs behind Alaphilippe, Thomas, Froome and Team Sky trailing over the finish over three minutes behind the stage winner.

In the overall standings Van Avermaet now leads Thomas, in second, by 2:22, with Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) now up to third overall at 3:10.

The 11th stage, held over 108.5 km between Albertville and La Rosiere, features the first summit finish of the race. The third and final day in the Alps is on Thursday when sparks are expected to fly on the 14km climb, over 21 hairpin bends, to the summit of Alpe d’Huez.

Tour de France 2018 – stage 10 results (Annecy – Le Grand-Bornand):

1Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors)


2Ion Izagirre (Bahrain-Merida)


3Rein Taaramäe (Direct Energie)


4Greg Van Avermaet (BMC)


5Serge Pauwels (Dimension Data)


6Lilian Calmejane (Direct Energie)


7Daniel Martin (UAE Team Emirates)


8Primoz Roglic (LottoNL-Jumbo)


9David Gaudu (Groupama-FDJ)


10Geraint Thomas (Team Sky)


11Romain Bardet (AG2R La Mondiale)


12Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNL-Jumbo)


13Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)


14Jakob Fuglsang (Astana)


15Chris Froome (Team Sky)


16Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb)


17Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)


18Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


19Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida)


20Mikel Landa (Movistar)



General classification after stage 10:

1Greg Van Avermaet (BMC)


2Geraint Thomas (Team Sky)


3Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)


4Jakob Fuglsang (Astana)


5Bob Jungels (Quick-Step Floors)


6Chris Froome (Team Sky)


7Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)


8Mikel Landa (Movistar)


9Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida)


10Primoz Roglic (LottoNL-Jumbo)


11Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb)


12Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNL-Jumbo)


13Rafal Majka (Bora-hansgrohe)


14Romain Bardet (AG2R La Mondiale)


15Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo)


16Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


17Daniel Martin (UAE Team Emirates)


18Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin)


19Serge Pauwels (Dimension Data)


20Domenico Pozzovivo (Bahrain-Merida)