Home Grand Tours Jakobsen tops Bennett in photo finish to claim fourth Vuelta stage

Jakobsen tops Bennett in photo finish to claim fourth Vuelta stage


With his eyes closed, Fabio Jakobsen beat Sam Bennett in a photo finish to win the fourth stage of the Vuelta on Tuesday, while Nicolas Roche kept the overall lead.

Jakobsen fended off a strong charge by Bennett in the final meters of the 175-kilometer ride from Cullera to El Puig on Spain’s eastern coast.

”I couldn’t see because I closed my eyes, Sam was so close,” said Jakobsen. ”I went for the line and threw my bike. When I saw people from the team cheering I knew I had won. This is a big one.”

It was the first Grand Tour stage win for the Dutch rider from team Deceuninck-Quick-Step.

”To win in a Grand Tour is one of the things you dream of as a sprinter,” Jakobsen said. ”In my head I thought I could do it, but you never know for sure. To win a stage of La Vuelta wearing the colors of your country is amazing.”

”This one hurts a lot,” Bennett said. ”It was really hard to position myself in the final kilometers. On the last roundabout I lost many positions because I chose the wrong side. I really forced this one to happen but it just didn’t go as I hoped for.”

Roche finished safely in the peloton. He will carry a two-second lead over Quintana entering Wednesday’s fifth stage, which will take riders 170 kilometers (105 miles) from the city of L’Eliana to a finish by an astronomical observatory in Arcos de las Salinas.

Vuelta a Espana 2019 – stage 4 results (Cullera – El Puig):

1Fabio Jakobsen (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


2Sam Bennett (Bora-hansgrohe)


3Fernando Gaviria (UAE Team Emirates)


4Luka Mezgec (Mitchelton-Scott)


5Marc Sarreau (Groupama-FDJ)


6Szymon Sajnok (CCC)


7Edvald Boasson Hagen (Dimension Data)


8Ion Aberasturi (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA)


9Clement Venturini (AG2R La Mondiale)


10Maximiliano Richeze (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


11Cyril Barthe (Euskadi-Murias)


12Phil Bauhaus (Bahrain-Merida)


13Viacheslav Kuznetsov (Katusha-Alpecin)


14Edward Theuns (Trek-Segafredo)


15Tosh Van Der Sande (Lotto Soudal)


16Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)


17Nicholas Dlamini (Dimension Data)


18Esteban Chaves (Mitchelton-Scott)


19Benjamin Thomas (Groupama-FDJ)


20Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates)


Vuelta a Espana 2019 – general classification after stage 4:

1Nicolas Roche (Team Sunweb)


2Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


3Rigoberto Uran (EF Education First)


4Mikel Nieve (Mitchelton-Scott)


5Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana)


6Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma)


7Sergio Higuita (EF Education First)


8Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)


9Davide Formolo (Bora-hansgrohe)


10Rafal Majka (Bora-hansgrohe)


11Victor De La Parte (CCC)


12Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)


13Esteban Chaves (Mitchelton-Scott)


14Fabio Aru (UAE Team Emirates)


15Pierre Latour (AG2R La Mondiale)


16Alexander Aranburu (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA)


17George Bennett (Jumbo-Visma)


18Jesus Herrada (Cofidis)


19Zdenek Stybar (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


20Luis Leon Sanchez (Astana)