Home News Gianni Moscon seals Tour of Guangxi victory

Gianni Moscon seals Tour of Guangxi victory

Gianni Moscon wins Tour of Guangxi 2018

Gianni Moscon (Team Sky) won the Tour of Guangxi on Sunday after Fabio Jakobsen (Quick-Step Floors) triumphed in the sixth and final stage in a bunch sprint.

Moscon topped the general classification standings in the final stop on the 2018 UCI World Tour with a time of 20hr 39min 56sec.

Second was Felix Grossschartner (Bora-hansgrohe), nine seconds behind, and a further five seconds adrift in third was Sergei Chernetski (Astana).

Moscon won the summit finish stage Friday and Sunday defended the red leader’s jersey around Guilin’s rain-soaked streets and to its famous pagoda temples.

“It’s the best way to end the season this, winning,” Moscon said. “I’m really happy to have won the race and now I go back home really happy.”

Tour of Guangxi 2018 – stage 6 results (Guilin – Guilin):

1Fabio Jakobsen (Quick-Step Floors)


2Pascal Ackermann (Bora-hansgrohe)


3Rudiger Selig (Bora-hansgrohe)


4Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (Dimension Data)


5Maximilian Walscheid (Team Sunweb)


6Carlos Barbero (Movistar)


7Matteo Trentin (Mitchelton-Scott)


8Daniel McLay (EF Education First-Drapac)


9Enzo Wouters (Lotto Soudal)


10Chun Kai Feng (Bahrain-Merida)



Final general classification:

1Gianni Moscon (Team Sky)


2Felix Grossschartner (Bora-hansgrohe)


3Rémi Cavagna (Quick-Step Floors)


4Edward Dunbar (Team Sky)


5Nathan Van Hooydonck (BMC)


6Martijn Tusveld (Team Sunweb)


7Hugh Carthy (EF Education First-Drapac)


8Aurélien Paret-Peintre (AG2R La Mondiale)


9Pavel Sivakov (Team Sky)


10Clement Venturini (AG2R La Mondiale)