Home News Gaviria beats Sagan to win stage 6 of Tirreno-Adriatico

Gaviria beats Sagan to win stage 6 of Tirreno-Adriatico

Fernando Gaviria beats Peter Sagan-min

Fernando Gaviria (Quick-Step Floors) beat Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe) to take the victory in the sixth stage of Tirreno-Adriatico. Nairo Quintana retains the blue leader’s jersey ahead of the final time trial on Tuesday

The main break of the day consisted of Ben Gastauer (AG2R La Mondiale), Davide Ballerini and Raffaello Bonusi (Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec), Simone Andreetta and Mirco Maestri (Bardiani-CSF), Alan Marangoni (Nippo-Vini Fantini), Jonas Henttala (Novo Nordisk) with Pavel Kochetkov (Katusha-Alpecin) bridging across.

A train forced the peloton to stop at a level crossing and the gap ballooned. However, organisers decided to hold the break at the foot of the only KOM and reestablish the original gap.

The finish featured another tough circuit, which ended the breakaway’s chances. Multiple late-stage attacks came on the tough finish, with Juan José Lobato, Bob Jungels and Peter Sagan, wearing the points jersey, all trying. Finally a trio of Fabio Felline, Mattia Cattaneo and Niki Terpstra got a gap but were eventually reeled back with 2.5km to go by a small sprint group off the front of the peloton.

Tirreno-Adriatico 2017 – stage 6 results (Ascoli Piceno – Civitanova Marche):

1Fernando Gaviria (Quick-Step Floors)


2Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe)


3Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo)


4Matteo Trentin (Quick-Step Floors)


5Jens Debusschere (Lotto Soudal)


6Elia Viviani (Team Sky)


7Scott Thwaites (Dimension Data)


8Eduard Grosu (Nippo – Vini Fantini)


9Anthony Roux (FDJ)


10Jurgen Roelandts (Lotto Soudal)



General classification after stage 6:

1Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


2Thibaut Pinot (FDJ)


3Rohan Dennis (BMC)


4Primoz Roglic (LottoNl-Jumbo)


5Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb)


6Geraint Thomas (Team Sky)


7Rigoberto Uran (Cannondale-Drapac)


8Jonathan Castroviejo (Movistar)


9Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo)


10Simon Spilak (Katusha-Alpecin)