Home News Ewan makes it three with stage 4 victory at Tour Down Under

Ewan makes it three with stage 4 victory at Tour Down Under

Caleb Ewan

Caleb Ewan has once again out-sprinted his rivals to win stage four of the Tour Down Under, his third victory this week.

A desperate chase and late catch of solo breakaway survivor Jack Bauer (Quick-Step Floors) made for another hectic finish, but Ewan kept his cool to make another well-timed move up the finish straight for the win.

The result backs up a dream start to the 2017 season for Ewan, with victories at the People’s Choice Classic and stages one and three of the Tour Down Under.

“I really couldn’t have asked for a better start to the year,” Ewan said. “My team again did an amazing job. They really backed me on a circuit that could have gone either way and I think you saw on TV that they really committed to the chase and they were really committed to another win today.”

“All of the wins I have had in the past few days, the finishes have been really different. I knew this one was going to be tough but it was tough for all of the sprinters

“Today was a tricky one. It is hard for a lead out train to stay together down the gorge. I was with Daryl Impey for most of it and he did a mega job. He had to move me up but then he pretty much took me to 300metres to go too so it was an amazing turn.”

Tour Down Under 2017 – stage 4 results (Norwood – Campbelltown):

1Caleb Ewan (Orica-Scott)


2Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe)


3Danny van Poppel (Team Sky)


4Ben Swift (UAE Abu Dhabi)


5Nathan Haas (Dimension Data)


6Baptiste Planckaert (Katusha-Alpecin)


7Jay McCarthy (Bora-hansgrohe)


8Callum Scotson (UniSA-Australia)


9Jasha Sütterlin (Movistar)


10Enrico Battaglin (LottoNL-Jumbo)



General classification after stage 4:

1Richie Porte (BMC)14:20:18
2Gorka Izagirre (Movistar)


3Esteban Chaves (Orica-Scott)


4Jay McCarthy (Bora-hansgrohe)


5Nathan Haas (Dimension Data)


6Diego Ulissi (UAE Abu Dhabi)


7Nathan Earle (UniSA-Australia),,
8Rohan Dennis (BMC),,
9Luis León Sánchez (Astana),,
10Rafael Valls (Lotto Soudal),,