Evenepoel wins Vuelta a Burgos as Sosa claims final stage

Remco Evenepoel (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) won the Vuelta a Burgos in Spain after finishing third in Saturday’s fifth and final stage between Covarrubias and Lagunas de Neila.

The 20-year-old had led the general classification after winning Thursday’s 150-km third stage between Sargentes de la Lora and Picon Blanco.

“This is a perfect day,” Evenepoel told reporters. “The team worked perfectly, kept me in position and it was my job to finish it. I’m glad it worked out. This was my third stage race this season and I’m winning for the third time.

“It was harder than two days ago when I won the stage, but luckily I had a good team around me and got the job done.”

Evenepoel won the Vuelta a San Juan and the Volta ao Algarve before the COVID-19 shutdown.

Mikel Landa (Bahrain McLaren) was 30 seconds behind Evenepoel overall after completing the 158-km fifth stage in second place behind winner Ivan Sosa (Team Ineos).

Vuelta a Burgos 2020 – stage 5 results (Covarrubias – Lagunas de Neila):

1Ivan Ramiro Sosa  (Team Ineos)


2Mikel Landa (Bahrain McLaren)


3Remco Evenepoel (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


4João Almeida (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


5Lennard Kämna (Bora-hansgrohe)


6Rafal Majka (Bora-hansgrohe)


7David Gaudu (Groupama-FDJ)


8Esteban Chaves (Mitchelton-Scott)


9Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)


10David De la Cruz (UAE Team Emirates)



Vuelta a Burgos 2020 – final general classification:

1Remco Evenepoel (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


2Mikel Landa (Bahrain McLaren)


3João Almeida (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


4Esteban Chaves (Mitchelton-Scott)


5George Bennett (Jumbo-Visma)


6Richard Carapaz (Team Ineos)


7Ben Hermans (Israel Start-Up Nation)


8David De la Cruz (UAE Team Emirates)


9Fabio Aru (UAE Team Emirates)


10Mikel Nieve (Mitchelton-Scott)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here