Home News Elia Viviani wins Tour de Romandie stage three

Elia Viviani wins Tour de Romandie stage three

Elia Viviani

Elia Viviani (Team Sky) won the third stage of the Tour de Romandie at the end of a 180-km ride around Payerne on Friday.

Viviani didn’t panic as Alexander Edmondson (Orica-Scott) jumped early, and had enough strength in reserve to overcome his rival, and hold off Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain Merida) at the line.

“I’m really happy and I need to thank the whole team. It’s exciting to have Froomey doing a lead-out with one kilometre to go. It’s not normal, but when you are in a team like ours it’s amazing when the whole team work for you and believe in you”, said Viviani.

“It’s been a long time since I last won, dating back to De Panne last season – over a year ago. That’s not easy for a sprinter! And this year after six second places, finally here in Romandie I got this big win.

“Today the whole team were incredible, from Pete and (Ian) Boswell working at the front early, Kiry, Lopez, Gianni and Owain Doull doing a perfect lead-out. Froomey didn’t want to lose any time on the stage but he said he was quite happy to do a lead-out for me.”

Fabio Felline (Trek-Segafredo) finished safely in the peloton and kept the overall race lead before Saturday’s queen stage.

Tour de Romandie 2017 – stage 3 results (Payerne – Payerne):

1Elia Viviani (Team Sky)


2Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain Merida)


3Michael Schwarzmann (Bora-hansgrohe)


4Alexander Edmondson (Orica-Scott)


5Samuel Dumoulin (AG2R)


6Youcef Reguigui (Dimension Data)


7Maximiliano Richeze (Quick-Step Floors)


8Moreno Hofland (Lotto Soudal)


9Viacheslav Kuznetsov (Katusha-Alpecin)


10Juan Jose Lobato (LottoNl-Jumbo)



General classification after stage 3:

1Fabio Felline (Trek-Segafredo)


2Maximilian Schachmann (Quick-Step Floors)


3Jesus Herrada (Movistar)


4Primoz Roglic (LottoNl-Jumbo)


5Jon Izaguirre (Bahrain Merida)


6Bob Jungels (Quick-Step Floors)


7José Gonçalves (Katusha-Alpecin)


8Ruben Fernandez (Movistar)


9Michael Albasini (Orica-Scott)


10Jonathan Castroviejo (Movistar)